C3.33 and C3.4 seem to indicate that only a mortar can hit units that it doesn't have LOS to. Is that the case? In our game, we had an AFV with LOS to an upper level building and a "??" in the level below out of LOS. We played it that it couldn't affect the "??".
I wish to confirm that I understand the Cave LOS rules correctly. The first image shows the map area without the Cave counters. The second image shows the map with two Cave counters. It also has two "LOS threads". I believe that the red one is blocked and the gray one is clear. What do you think?
Please see the attached image. A friendly unit is at level 2 in hex J3. An enemy unit is bypassing hex O3 at ground level (obviously) on the coordinate side. O3 is not a blind hex. N2 and N3 are blind hexes. Bypass LOS allows the friendly unit to trace LOS to the vertex of a hex being bypassed...
I'm playing a scenario and a disagreement about LOS through a multihex level 1.5 building has come up. (Screenshot of situation is attached.)
German units are firing from level 2 (red arrow pointing up on board b) and the target hex, with Russian units, are on level one of a multihex level 1.5...
If I understand the following rule correctly, I can fire right though a Stone Building that is ablaze (It says below that "Fire has no other effect [i.e. other than the Hindrance?] on LOS." Is that correct? If not, why not?
25.2 SMOKE: Any Burning Wreck or terrain Blaze is...
This has been asked before, but with the forum update, illustrations got lost, so for the common good it might make sense to ask again:
Firer in AA5. Target in CC5.
Does the Target receive Hedge TEM?
Would the Target receive Hedge TEM if the Firer...
So I m in the process of getting ready to bring in a new computer and am in the process of copying over my user folder from my old machine.
I realize that I probably do not need to copy the VASSAL tiles folder as it will get created anew when I install VASSAL on the new machine, but I could not...
About to start a scenario from BFP's Operation Cobra that has both light bocage and airplanes.
The rules state the light bocage doesn't create blind hexes from higher level locations (easy enough, it's just a wall with a serious attitude problem).
Elsewhere it says that *aerial* LOS is blocked...
We are getting ready to play G45 Halha River Bridge and I have a question regarding hillock LOS.
See the illustration. The dune is High and all hexes west of the river are at level 1.
Does a LOS exist between J6 and C3?
How much on an obstacle is the rowhouse black bar on LOS when the LOS crosses along the rowhouse hexside?
Can M15h2 see L16? L15 is a 1.5 obstacle, so the LOS should otherwise be clear. But does the bar block LOS when the LOS is above the roof?
If M15 is rubbled at ground level, can...
Imagine a scenario that gives one side a HIP leader with a radio. Calling in OBA isn't a concealment loss action, but what do you do if you want to check a LOS to that HIP leader? You don't want your opponent to know where that leader hides...
As long as the boards don't shift their relative positions during a game (and even then, it doesn't really matter) the position of the dot is meaningless.
In fact, the game could have been designed with multiple dots per hex, requiring a clear LOS to any dot.
Or with the dot in a random...
If so, where do the rules say so directly?
If not, then how do we know its not so? -- other than reading the entirety of the rules and finding examples?
If the answer is "sometimes" -- then god help us all trying to figure it out. Got a list showing for which rule numbers they are and are...
See the attached image.
Is the LOS from N3 to R6 blocked by O5?
The rule says:
B11.2 The serrated edge of a cliff is no more of an obstacle to LOS traced along that hexside than the elevation level it separates from the higher hill hex. For LOS purposes, the black art depiction of a...
Does the Russian unit have LOS to the Hungarian unit? If I understand the embankment rules correctly, the answer is no, but I need confirmation because those LOS rules are defined by the Hillock rules, whose example is massive.
I'm reading the rulebook line by line and finding, if course, rules that I did not know existed or one that I had hitherto misunderstood.
Case in point: A9.22 states the following in the last paragraph:
"However, neither NVR (E11) nor any SMOKE/...
For some reason its been in my mind that mist does not apply when the LOS stays entirely within a building depiction.
But I've been unable to locate such in the rules.
Am I making up rules again? :hush:
I've been trying to use the LOS and the los buttons to check line of sight to different levels, and it doesn't seem to work regardless of what the preference setting is for my arrow keys. You can either set it to scroll or uncheck. When I use the arrow keys my screen scrolls, not the level LOS...
Having a brain freeze here and can't work this out.
If a los touches the vertex of an inherent terrain hindrance, is there a hindrance for that hex???
Reading A6.7 it mentions through the hex and along the hex side but what about just touching the vertex. This los is not just by eye, but...