Kreta errata ?

benj

Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2006
Messages
438
Reaction score
177
Location
France
Country
llFrance
I'm just beginning the campaign of Kreta, Operation Merkur and found no errata published (yet). Any errata available?

And speaking of this, here are some questions, hoping it is the right place to ask:

- wounded side of heroes shows 1-4-8 factors instead of 1-3-8, typo ?

- SSR5 of OM-1 and SSR4 of OM-2 state that the Allied sniper counter is placed after all Glider land. Isn't that the Axis sniper instead?

- we had difficulties understanding when light or regular olive groves are in effect and assumed light olive groves were in effect in all scenarios of the campaign and only if specified in geomorphic scenarios.

- in scenario OM-1, do the NZ player has to set up Elements of C Company >= 2 hexes from any other MMC, INCLUDING crews from the other groups, or is this restriction only for the C Company group? Same question for OM-2.

And many thanks for this great product!
 

Jeff Waldon

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2003
Messages
391
Reaction score
107
Location
South Carolina
First name
Jeff
Country
llUnited States
These questions were answered by Andrew Hershey, one of the designers of the Kreta HASL module, and written here by me. I am not connected to HOB in any way and any errors are soley my own.

1) No errata yet published.

2) The reverse side of the Heroes counters are a typo.

3) The Sniper rule is correct as written. Explaination? The Germans have a Sniper meantime
to simulate collateral atacks from Stukas and other Fighter Bombers. Also the Allied Sniper would not have a 'target' until the gliders set down and German units appear.

4)Olive Groves: The line in rule 7 should help. In OM scenarios LIGHT is always in effect. ie if on the historical map it's LIGHT. On the geomorphic maps, the SSR will define.

5) C Co: Just as it reads: MMC, which includes crews. It prevents you forming a human wall around a gun.

I hope this helps.

Jeff
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 8, 2004
Messages
215
Reaction score
46
Location
Saint-Brieuc, France
Country
llFrance
Hi,
Please can someone clarify this point.
On several scenarios, instructions say that there is a mild breeze at start and all OM special rules apply (including 'there is no wind at start ').
So wind or not ?
Thanks.
 

volgaG68

Fighting WWII One DR At A Time
Joined
Jun 15, 2012
Messages
2,951
Reaction score
1,026
Location
La Crosse, KS
First name
Chris
Country
llUnited States
Hi,
Please can someone clarify this point.
On several scenarios, instructions say that there is a mild breeze at start and all OM special rules apply (including 'there is no wind at start ').
So wind or not ?
Thanks.

As confirmed by Andy in the link, yes, the SSR (or SV) applies. There is wind.
 

Ganjulama

Tuco B.P.J. Maria Ramirez
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Messages
2,163
Reaction score
839
Location
Wilmington, NC
Country
llUnited States
Don’t know if this belongs here but I’m gonna play DftB 150 Fallschirmjager graveyard. The British SAN is 5 on the card but the British balance says “the allied SAN is 5 at start”. I can find no reference on scenario card to at start allied SAN. perhaps this is in OM rules? I’m awaiting delivery of the module.
 

asloser

The Head Tuomo of the Finnish ASL Community
Gold Supporting Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2003
Messages
700
Reaction score
816
Location
Klaukkala-Finland
Country
llFinland
Don’t know if this belongs here but I’m gonna play DftB 150 Fallschirmjager graveyard. The British SAN is 5 on the card but the British balance says “the allied SAN is 5 at start”. I can find no reference on scenario card to at start allied SAN. perhaps this is in OM rules? I’m awaiting delivery of the module.
I had a game of this lined up about year ago but as my opponent is an university hospital doctor he has not been available for game... I'd love to hear how it turned out.
 

sswann

Elder Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2003
Messages
2,539
Reaction score
559
Location
Camping in Texas
First name
Steven
Country
llUnited States
In any scenario with Paradrops or Gliders, a wind direction MUST be declared EVEN IF ONLY for the air landing portion of the scenario.
 
Top