Understanding the CH Counters.

von Marwitz

Forum Guru
Reaction score
Country
llUkraine
well, all I can say is if MMP provided the counters as individual sets then we wouldn't have to go to third party producers for them
I think there is some truth in that.

Of course we know that MMP has to or had to redo many counters from scratch before the reprint of the last few core modules. Which must be a tedious sh**load of work.

I have no good knowledge on prices of having countersheets printed. All I know is that volume matters.
I could *imagine*, though, that for the printing cost it does not matter much if 10 or 12 different counter-sheets are printed as long as the overall number of sheets is of sufficient volume.

We know that it does not make sense for MMP to stockpile products to much that take a long time to sell off. But perhaps if they print the next core module, they could make a test by printing a number of "nationality sheets" of redone core-modules which will probably will not be much extra work and then try to sell these as parts. That way, they will have enough 'volume' when they print and they could test how well their own sheets would sell as 'parts'. If that test is financially successful, they could expand on it, possibly even using this method to generate 'volume' when printing other stuff to lower their production cost.

von Marwitz

Bob Walters

Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
I think if MMP sold a full counter set they might cannibalize their module market. However, if they sold a reduced counter set (say enough for generic scenarios) it would tide people over until a module reprint and serve as a beta test for the counter and their artwork. Where as I doubt anyone would substitute 3rd party counters for a real module if it is available.

Brad M-V

Reaction score
Country
llCanada