- Jul 4, 2005
- Reaction score
- Albany, Australia
This needs clarification as in your answer to question 2 (post 2 of this thread),In both cases, yes, since the unit is not in the fortified location, you can enter the building. Since a unit in Crest status is one level higher than the bottom of the hex (B20.91), they wouldn't necessarily even be eligible for CC since they aren't in the same location.
you state the powder magazine building is NOT a seperate Location.
As an aside, it costs 4MF to enter the Gun battery fortified building,(2MF to enter Gun battery and 2 MF to enter fortified building) so a CX unit in D23 could not advance INTO the Gun battery and into the fortified buliding [A4.72]
And if the C23 building is the same Location as outside the building, it would mean the following is true:
If C23 had a japanese squad in the building and one outside the building (whether in Crest or not), it would mean no US unit could advance into C23 at all, as the Location has a squad in a fortified building.
Persoonally, I think you need a rewrite of this section of the rules, such that the following occurs:
Hex C23 (and the other Gun batteries/powdwer magazines) consists of the following-
- A Cellar Location with a normal stacking limit of 1 SE (overstacking is NA). may only be attacked by enemy units in the building above or in the Cellar location itsself
- A stone building Location above the Cellar with a normal stacking limit of 1 SE (overstacking is NA). This Location is Fortified (ie +4 TEM). Treat it as a pillbox with a 360 field of fire. A unit in the fortofoed building may not be attacked (nor itself attack) in CC if there is armed friendly ground unit in hex C23 outside of the building location. (ie as per B30.6). Entering the stone building in the MPh is a seperate MF expenditure from entering INTO the Gun Battery/Mortar Pit
- A Gun Battery/Mortar Pit Location with a normal stacking limit of 3 SE (overstacking may occur). The units in this Location may be either IN the Gun battery/Mortar pit or a Crest status (or a mix of both)