Does a wreck provide TEM for an AFV?

esprcorn

Member
Joined
May 13, 2013
Messages
868
Reaction score
179
Location
Blacksburg, VA
Country
llUnited States
D9.3 seems to suggest that a wreck only provides TEM for infantry. Just want to double check as I've never realized this and never played it this way...
 

jrv

Forum Guru
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,998
Reaction score
6,132
Location
Teutoburger Wald
Country
llIceland
D9.3 seems to suggest that a wreck only provides TEM for infantry. Just want to double check as I've never realized this and never played it this way...
D9.3 doesn't suggest; it says, "All Infantry in the same Location with a wreck/friendly-AFV/abandoned-enemy-AFV are entitled to a +1 TEM."

JR
 

=FC=Gorgon

Minister of Propaganda
Gold Supporting Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2008
Messages
1,005
Reaction score
231
Location
Ryalside
Country
llUnited States
D9.3 seems to suggest that a wreck only provides TEM for infantry. Just want to double check as I've never realized this and never played it this way...
Only Infantry must utilize the +1 TEM from a Wreck or AFV. However a Wreck/AFV may be a Hindrance if the LOS passes through that hex. (D9.4).
 

Philippe D.

Elder Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2016
Messages
1,499
Reaction score
652
Location
Bordeaux
Country
llFrance
Hmm, I'm pretty sure I've played this wrong (i.e., counting TEM for an AFV) at least once.
 

Eagle4ty

Elder Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
4,169
Reaction score
1,736
Location
Eau Claire, Wi
Country
llUnited States
Nope, but I think a non-burning wreck may be able to be hit again by a near miss(?) as an overstacked vehicle even though A5.2 does not invoke Overstacking penalties. I thought there was a Q&A that addressed this, but have been unable to find it. Perhaps there had just been a discussion about it and never resolved (Got a good memory, just awful short:rolleyes:).
 

jrv

Forum Guru
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,998
Reaction score
6,132
Location
Teutoburger Wald
Country
llIceland
A non-burning wreck may be targeted but is not involved in overstacking and cannot be hit as such. Per A5.132 only vehicles can be hit in an overstacked hex. A wreck is not a vehicle.

JR
 

Nearmiss

Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2013
Messages
175
Reaction score
24
Location
SE MD
Country
llUnited States
Ken,
Is that why I haven't seen a log from you recently? I could have answered that question.
 
Top