CC v. Vehicle

Kilroy

Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2004
Messages
84
Reaction score
6
Location
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Here's the situation: the Nazis Advance into a building location containing a motion, bypass enemy bu AFV. Nazis have 2 heroes, an 8-1, and a fanatic squad, thus no paatcs are necessary. Ambush mods are +2 vehicle, +1 bu AFV, -1 stealth, -1 leader. Nazis ambush so designate CC attacks sequentially and resolve them all first. Hero, Hero, and 8-1 and Squad combined, predesignated. First Hero CCV 2, -1 hero -1 ambush +2 motion. DR 1,1... Immobile and Unlikely Kill- dr 5 no effect. Second Hero CCV 2, -1 hero, -1 ambush, -1 immobile, and +2 motion or no? Roll 1,3... either Burns or No Effect depending on motion... Leader and Squad kill AFV regardless. Now, ambush withdrawal to 1st level of building with no AFV return attack via cmg or other due to ambush. Does anyone see anything incorrect here and a reference for the error(s)?

Thanx,

Kilroy
 

Brian W

Elder Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2003
Messages
7,216
Reaction score
1,201
Location
USA
Country
llUnited States
T-roy said:
Hero, Hero, and 8-1 and Squad combined, predesignated. First Hero CCV 2, -1 hero -1 ambush +2 motion. DR 1,1... Immobile and Unlikely Kill- dr 5 no effect. Second Hero CCV 2, -1 hero, -1 ambush, -1 immobile, and +2 motion or no?
If it is immobilized it is no longer in motion or non-stopped, so no +2 DRM.
 

Walkie

Recruit
Joined
Jan 29, 2003
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Location
NE Ohio
Country
llUnited States
-1 immobile, and +2 motion or no?
I'd say that the "+2 motion" wouldn't count for this hero.
D2.4 Third Sentence:
A vehicle's Motion counter is immediately removed when it starts movement in its next MPh or if the vehicle becomes Immobile.

With it being sequential CC, vs. Veh, and Ambush, I think the motion counter is off, so no +2 motion.

Roger
-not a rules expert :wink:
 

Pitman

Elder Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2003
Messages
13,843
Reaction score
1,451
Location
Columbus, OH
Country
llUnited States
Wait a sec. Why are all these guys taking separate attacks on the vehicle? A unit can only be attacked once in close combat.
 

AdrianE

Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2003
Messages
782
Reaction score
75
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
Country
llCanada
If you predesignate a combined attack shouldn't it go like this

CCV 5 +1 (hero) +1 (hero) +1 (leader) =8
DRMs -1hero -1hero -1leader -1 ambush +2 motion

The net effect is a CCV of 8 with a -2 modifier.

If you want to add insult to injury have one of the heros roll for an AATM for an additional -3 drm if available.

Basically what you executed was sequential attacks not a combined attack. Although I may be confused by your description of the situation.

Check the CC example in the RB. The first squad immobilizes the PzIV and the second squad gets to take his shot without the +2drm.

Mark - AFVs may be attacked multiple times in CC. Check out the examples.
 

Brian W

Elder Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2003
Messages
7,216
Reaction score
1,201
Location
USA
Country
llUnited States
pitman said:
Wait a sec. Why are all these guys taking separate attacks on the vehicle? A unit can only be attacked once in close combat.
The exception is that vehicles can be attacked multiple times.
 

Brian W

Elder Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2003
Messages
7,216
Reaction score
1,201
Location
USA
Country
llUnited States
AdrianE said:
If you predesignate a combined attack shouldn't it go like this

CCV 5 +1 (hero) +1 (hero) +1 (leader) =8
DRMs -1hero -1hero -1leader -1 ambush +2 motion

The net effect is a CCV of 8 with a -2 modifier.
A MMC can only be combined with one SMC when attacking a vehicle. However, it would certainly have been good to roll for a ATMM if available. I also think that the best attack should have gone first so as to eliminate the Motion/Non-Stopped +2 DRM for the other attack if needed. Also, the two heroes could have combined for a 3 CCV -2 heroic modifier.
 

jimfer

Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2003
Messages
745
Reaction score
39
Location
Fort Worth Texas
Country
llUnited States
CCV

Hey before we discuss how he should have played it we must remember he succeeded by the way he played it. Good job.

jimfer
 

ds

Member
Joined
May 18, 2004
Messages
81
Reaction score
0
Location
Sacramento, CA
Country
llUnited States
Just reading the rules (A11.5) on this and wanted to clarify something:

Does a 6+1 Leader increase the CCV of a squad/HS/crew by +1 just like all other leaders? (This would seem to 'somewhat' negate that +1 CC DRM detriment applied per A11.51)
 

jimfer

Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2003
Messages
745
Reaction score
39
Location
Fort Worth Texas
Country
llUnited States
ds wrote :

Just reading the rules (A11.5) on this and wanted to clarify something:

Does a 6+1 Leader increase the CCV of a squad/HS/crew by +1 just like all other leaders? (This would seem to 'somewhat' negate that +1 CC DRM detriment applied per A11.51)

Your attack will increase by 1 odds shift against a vehicle (5ccv to 6ccv) with the +1 of the 6+1 leader off setting the advantage of the leader addition. The benefits to you are that the attack against you probably increased in your favor, if the attacker achieves a random reduction dr it may choose the 6+1 and leave your MMC alive to try again.

Jimer
 
Top