AFV in VBM Immobilized ...

clubby

Elder Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2015
Messages
2,241
Reaction score
534
Location
CA
Country
llUnited States
by a HIP MMC/8-1 leader using Street Fighting CC Reaction Fire from the ground level on the building being bypassed. They rolled on their CCV number, immobilizing the AFV. The crew failed their Immobilization TC. What happens to the crew? We played it, hopefully correctly, that they bailed out into the building with the MMC/8-1 leader locking them in Melee. This proved to be devastatingly bad for the MMC/8-1, as a full stack of Germans waltzed up to them ADJACENT, broke them with Advancing Fire and advanced in during the APh, killing them trying to withdraw during CC. Doesn't quite seem right how we played it, but we probably missed the answer in the holy tome. Thanks in advance.
 

shirlfactor

Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2007
Messages
269
Reaction score
38
Location
connecticut
Country
llUnited States
@clubby It's always entertaining when we can't make it through turn one without a rules check on some event that rarely happens lol
 

shirlfactor

Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2007
Messages
269
Reaction score
38
Location
connecticut
Country
llUnited States
@clubby it was the first guy too haha. I thought that was going to be it for me when I lost the tank but overall I think we both have gotten a few good and bad breaks so far. I like the scenario alot .
 

clubby

Elder Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2015
Messages
2,241
Reaction score
534
Location
CA
Country
llUnited States
You roll more snake than anybody I've ever played with. :D
 

clubby

Elder Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2015
Messages
2,241
Reaction score
534
Location
CA
Country
llUnited States
You had like 70 heroes and battle hardened units in those two half playings of Prescription for the Kommissar. :D
 

shirlfactor

Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2007
Messages
269
Reaction score
38
Location
connecticut
Country
llUnited States
Its easy to battle harden and get hero's when your opponents machine guns are malfunctioning haha
 

jrv

Forum Guru
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,998
Reaction score
6,166
Location
Teutoburger Wald
Country
llIceland
VBM TC are taken only when immobilized by a *non-CC* attack [D5.5]. In this case no TC is taken. The net result: VBM sleaze-freeze accomplished.

If the vehicle had been immobilized by another means, the crew would take its TC as per normal and might have bailed out. The defenders could DFF on the bailing crew (with the customary -2 DRM) or not (since the crew was not entering the Location). I believe the units would be marked with a CC counter, but that may be wrong (the rules for placement of the CC counter are somewhat obscure) and isn't very important, as the CC marker has very little game effect. If there had been an existing Melee in the hex the crew would join that, but if there hadn't been a Melee before, the crew bailing out does not create one. Melees can only be created during the CCPh or by Infantry OVR.

JR
 
Last edited:

volgaG68

Fighting WWII One DR At A Time
Joined
Jun 15, 2012
Messages
2,988
Reaction score
1,083
Location
La Crosse, KS
First name
Chris
Country
llUnited States
by a HIP MMC/8-1 leader using Street Fighting CC Reaction Fire from the ground level on the building being bypassed. They rolled on their CCV number, immobilizing the AFV. The crew failed their Immobilization TC. What happens to the crew? We played it, hopefully correctly, that they bailed out into the building with the MMC/8-1 leader locking them in Melee. This proved to be devastatingly bad for the MMC/8-1, as a full stack of Germans waltzed up to them ADJACENT, broke them with Advancing Fire and advanced in during the APh, killing them trying to withdraw during CC. Doesn't quite seem right how we played it, but we probably missed the answer in the holy tome. Thanks in advance.
Hint: It was a CCRF attack, not Direct Fire. No surviving crews in CC.

[Scooped by jrv!]
 

volgaG68

Fighting WWII One DR At A Time
Joined
Jun 15, 2012
Messages
2,988
Reaction score
1,083
Location
La Crosse, KS
First name
Chris
Country
llUnited States
VBM TC are taken only when immobilized by a *non-CC* attack [D5.5]. In this case no TC is taken.

If the vehicle had been immobilized by another means, the crew would take its TC as per normal and might have bailed out. The defenders could DFF on the bailing crew (with the customary -2 DRM) or not (since the crew was not entering the Location.
jrv, had it been Direct Fire that forced the Immobilization TC, and had the crew failed it, what modifiers would the crew have been subjected to when fired on? Assuming it was an open ground hexside they were Bypassing. -1FFNAM & +1 AFV TEM? Or -1 FFNAM & -1 FFMO because their wrecked vehicle would have qualified for Case J at the time?
 

clubby

Elder Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2015
Messages
2,241
Reaction score
534
Location
CA
Country
llUnited States
Hint: It was a CCRF attack, not Direct Fire. No surviving crews in CC.

[Scooped by jrv!]
Well, we played it wrong obviously, but the crew didn't CS. They bailed out on an immobilization TC, which apparently is not required when immobilized in CC.
 

clubby

Elder Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2015
Messages
2,241
Reaction score
534
Location
CA
Country
llUnited States
jrv, had it been Direct Fire that forced the Immobilization TC, and had the crew failed it, what modifiers would the crew have been subjected to when fired on? Assuming it was an open ground hexside they were Bypassing. -1FFNAM & +1 AFV TEM?
A bailing out crew is using Hazardous Movement.
 

clubby

Elder Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2015
Messages
2,241
Reaction score
534
Location
CA
Country
llUnited States
VBM TC are taken only when immobilized by a *non-CC* attack [D5.5]. In this case no TC is taken. The net result: VBM sleaze-freeze accomplished.

If the vehicle had been immobilized by another means, the crew would take its TC as per normal and might have bailed out. The defenders could DFF on the bailing crew (with the customary -2 DRM) or not (since the crew was not entering the Location). I believe the units would be marked with a CC counter, but that may be wrong (the rules for placement of the CC counter are somewhat obscure) and isn't very important, as the CC marker has very little game effect. If there had been an existing Melee in the hex the crew would join that, but if there hadn't been a Melee before, the crew bailing out does not create one. Melees can only be created during the CCPh or by Infantry OVR.

JR
It was not the mission he was trying to accomplish, as he had no idea they were there and lost a good asset on the 1st MPh of the game, but yes mission accomplished because those guys are dead.
 

jrv

Forum Guru
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,998
Reaction score
6,166
Location
Teutoburger Wald
Country
llIceland
jrv, had it been Direct Fire that forced the Immobilization TC, and had the crew failed it, what modifiers would the crew have been subjected to when fired on? Assuming it was an open ground hexside they were Bypassing. -1FFNAM & +1 AFV TEM? Or -1 FFNAM & -1 FFMO because their wrecked vehicle would have qualified for Case J at the time?
They are subject to Hazardous Movement, but also get the AFV.

JR
 

jrv

Forum Guru
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,998
Reaction score
6,166
Location
Teutoburger Wald
Country
llIceland
It was not the mission he was trying to accomplish, as he had no idea they were there and lost a good asset on the 1st MPh of the game, but yes mission accomplished because those guys are dead.
Now the crew can dismount and carry on to victory.

JR
 
Top