aa and at guns setting up behind a wall or hedge

Eagle4ty

Elder Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
3,336
Reaction score
1,074
Location
Eau Claire, Wi
Country
llUnited States
If the Gun is emplaced, as long as you record the fact it has WA as well, it will retain WA until such a time as you may want to decline WA or move the gun (both probably unlikely). If the gun is not emplaced (very seldom & highly unlikely) in the situation it's presented (in OG) it will automatically have WA with no need to record it. So yes, in most instances you will be able to have a LOS over & beyond the hedge/wall.
 

Honosbinda

Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2014
Messages
424
Reaction score
66
Location
Eastbourne Sussex UK
Country
ll
More comprehensively, the answer is always 'yes;" the gun will have LOS, regardless of WA or not unless the hedge is bocage.

Emplacement is not the same as Entrenched. See B9.21. If the gun is in a trench (B25.71) then you'll have no LOS across the hedge.
 

Brian W

Elder Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2003
Messages
7,131
Reaction score
946
Location
USA
Country
llUnited States
If the gun is in a trench (B25.71) then you'll have no LOS across the hedge.
Small correction to be complete, if in a Trench, the gun would only be able to see adjacent hexes if the LOS crosses a hedge/wall. So, very limited LOS, but can still see adjacent hexes across walls/hedges (and ignoring Bocage, LOS doesn't depend on wall advantage as was pointed out).
 

semenza

Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
593
Reaction score
57
Location
Poplar Ridge , NY
Country
llUnited States
One of the times a unit can claim WA is when is when losing HIP status. So I don't think it needs to be recorded. Also here is some Perry Sez Q & A related to this.

B9.323
Can a gun be Emplaced in a hex with a wall or hedge hexside?
A. Of course, and Emplacement has no affect on claiming WA, and claiming WA does not supersede the Emplacement TEM.

Assuming a gun can be Emplaced in a hex with a wall or hedge hexside. Must it claim WA instead of its Emplacement modifier (+2) when an enemy unit becomes adjacent? Must it claim WA instead of its emplacement modifier (+2) if it has at least a +1 TEM (EX. woods) when an enemy unit becomes adjacent?
A. An Emplaced Gun in OG, etc., must claim WA (just like everyone else) and one in +1 TEM, etc., need not claim WA (just like everyone else). However, “when an enemy unit becomes adjacent” is not normally one of the times you can claim WA (unless you are losing HIP).

If an emplaced gun does claim WA does it receive its +2 Emplacement modifier vs units that are not adjacent?
A. It may claim +2 Emplacement TEM vs all units as usual.



Seth
 

klasmalmstrom

Forum Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
15,519
Reaction score
2,146
Location
Sweden
Country
llSweden
One of the times a unit can claim WA is when is when losing HIP status. So I don't think it needs to be recorded.
Though if you are behind a Bocage hexside you probably do want to record it as otherwise you won't have a LOS past the adjacent hex.

Note that in rule B9.324 the last sentence:
"..A hidden unit can never claim WA and must be placed (concealed) onboard to be able to claim WA during play, but may do so at any time—even at the moment an enemy unit moves adjacent and wants to claim WA."

was replaced via errata in ASL Journal 8 to this:
"...A HIP unit that desires to claim WA during setup must secretly record such WA status [EXC: 9.323]. A HIP unit may forfeit WA (even if it had been mandatory) to an enemy unit claiming WA (even implicitly; 9.323) over a shared hexside and remain hidden but must be placed on board (concealed) to deny an enemy unit from claiming WA, or to claim WA that is not mandatory and was not recorded, or to forfeit WA if no enemy is claiming it. Hidden units are not considered when determining if broken/unarmed units may claim WA (9.32)."
 
Top