SW possession activities during Rally Phase

GamerKirk

Recruit
Joined
May 21, 2019
Messages
25
Reaction score
9
Country
llUnited States
OK, a little unsure of what is legal to do when SW are in a hex in the Rally Phase. The rules talk about the start of the Rally Phase, and the Rally Phase, so maybe a list of possible activities with legal or illegal and a rules quote if possible, in the Rally Phase:

1) Two squads in a hex, one unpossessed SW. Squad 1 rolls and gains possession, thern hands over to squad 2.

2) Same as above, but Squad 2 already has a SW, trades with just possessed SW by other squad.

3) SMC rolls to possess unpossessed SW, succeeds, attempts rally of broken unit in hex.

4) SMC rolls to possess unpossessed SW, succeeds, gives to squad.

5) SMC rolls to possess unpossessed SW, fails, rallies broken squad.
 

GamerKirk

Recruit
Joined
May 21, 2019
Messages
25
Reaction score
9
Country
llUnited States
In Rally Ph, is dropping a SW an action? Can a squad drop a SW and receive a SW from another squad or roll for possession?
 

aloha_brian

Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2006
Messages
105
Reaction score
42
Location
New York
Country
llUnited States
Drop possession of SW in MPh (ASOP 3.22). You could transfer in RPh, then the squad can drop the other SW during it's MPh.
 

jrv

Forum Guru
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,998
Reaction score
6,147
Location
Teutoburger Wald
Country
llIceland
In Rally Ph, is dropping a SW an action? Can a squad drop a SW and receive a SW from another squad or roll for possession?
In general there's no reason to drop a SW in the RPh. A unit, even a wounded SMC, can possess any number of SW/Guns, so there's no penalty for possession, and it could have as many SW as it wants passed to it or it could roll to possess yet another. An unbroken unit can drop SW during the MPh, APh or at the start of the CCPh, so if you are planning to move you can drop before you start with no penalty for extra PP [A4.43]. Dropping in the RPh is not allowed.

One uncommon reason a unit might want to drop a SW in the RPh is if the SW is a FT, it's the enemy player turn, and the unit wants to avoid possessing it during DFPh. There's no way to do that that I can think of

JR
 
Last edited:

SFiedler

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
1,092
Reaction score
132
Location
Vellinge, Sweden
Country
llSweden
As far as I know my SW are all possessed by the start of the game. The tiny # in box defines the likelihood of that SW being possessed by the evil spirits. 1=low, 2= medium 3=very likely.
Usually the evil spirits manifests themselves by malfunctioning the weapons at crucial points but at times there are young and overeager evil spirits that likes to malfunction the SW immediately. DCs have lesser taunt demons that makes every detonation roll 10 in that way they can re-appear in certain CGs. FT trolls always secures 11s.
 
Top