Routing through OBA

aloha_brian

Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2006
Messages
105
Reaction score
42
Location
New York
Country
llUnited States
Rules References (Bold is my highlight)
A 10.51 DIRECTION:
Second Paragraph
If no non-ignorable building/woods Location can be reached during that RtPh, a broken unit may rout to any terrain hex consistent with the above restrictions and need not rout toward the nearest woods/building Location. Any unit which routs through the Blast Area of a FFE is attacked in each Location of the Blast Area into which it routs as if it were a moving target during Defensive First Fire. A broken unit may continue its rout in a subsequent RtPh only if under DM.

C 1.51 ENTERING A FFE : A HE/WP FFE:l/2/C also attacks each unit/ stack that enters a hex of the Blast Area during the MPh/RtPh/APh/CCPh [EXC: not if the unit/stack is immune to OBA therein (1.5)]. It also attacks each unit/stack that is changing position (or becoming vulnerable) within a Blast Area hex if the unit/stack is becoming more vulnerable to the FFE than it was in its immediately-previous position (e.g., a unit exiting a sewer or foxhole, claiming Wall Advantage while in a building Location, or moving to a higher building level). Such attacks are resolved using the FP determined in 1.5 (or cause WP NMC; see 1.71), but differ from PFPh/DFPh resolution in the following ways: a new resolution DR is made each time the unit/stack enters-a-new-hex/becomes-more-vulnerable-in-one; FFMO/ FFNAM can apply during the MPh (only); and no terrain, Fortifications or other units in the hex can be affected. A moving unit/stack can undergo a FFE attack in its MPh and again (along with the hex's other contents) in the DFPh. A FFE does not cause Interdiction.

Question: Are the TEMs and other modifiers of an OBA attack shown in () correct in the following cases: a unit routing into a Stone Factory hex with a roof; (+3 TEM, no FFNAM)? A unit routing through an open ground hex; (no TEM, no FFMO/FFNAM)? The confusion, related to FFMO/FFNAM, is due to the statement in A10.51 “...as if it were a moving target during Defensive First Fire.”
 

jrv

Forum Guru
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,998
Reaction score
6,139
Location
Teutoburger Wald
Country
llIceland
C1.51 cancels FFMO/FFNAM, so even though A10.51 says "as if it were a moving target", FFMO/FFNAM do not apply. Per the intro, "whenever a seeming contradiction appears between rule cases, the higher alpha-numeric rule always takes precedence."

JR
 
Top