Prokhorovka Errata

aslwynn

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2003
Messages
438
Reaction score
21
Location
Vernon, BC, Canada
Country
llCanada
Gentlemen;

Getting ready to play PRK6 and have come across a couple of things that my opponent and I believe need correction/clarification:

1. First footnote to CG11 Air Support calls for a possible Air Leader and refers the player to PRK30. That should actually read PRK 31.

2. SSR 2a states the Russian must set up Revetments 'with CA centered on west or southwest hexspine.' However, looking at the compass rose on the scenario card, only the SW direction is oriented towards a hexSPINE while the west direction is towards a hexSIDE. The Revetment rule 2.17.1 furthermore states that a Revetment must be pointed to a hexspine. We believe the SSR should be amended to accurately allow for 2.17.1.

Wynn Polnicky and Burnie Hegdahl
 

ibncalb

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2004
Messages
667
Reaction score
414
Location
La Turballe
Country
llFrance
My compass rose shows both W and SW as hex spines.

I'm setting up for my second playing. From my first play I can say that those revetments should not come into play.

Better editing would have done away with that SSR. But the sight of broken leaderless hordes of Russians clustered around burning AFVs seems weirdly apt.
 
Last edited:

aslwynn

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2003
Messages
438
Reaction score
21
Location
Vernon, BC, Canada
Country
llCanada
My compass rose shows both W and SW as hex spines.

I'm setting up for my second playing. From my first play I can say that those revetments should not come into play.

Better editing would have done away with that SSR.
I agree that adding the Revetments was probably unnecessary chrome, though Burnie and I have yet to start playing this one. Any sensible Russian will place them so as not to be useful to the SS. Having said that, it might have been included to add some level of historical authenticity, but if so surely their positions would have been predetermined.

As for the compass rose, geometry says it is not possible for a cardinal direction - N, S, E or W - to be on a hexspine and a semi-cardinal direction (NW, NE, SW or SE) to also be on a hexspine. It might help to place a direction counter oriented "normally" with N facing 'up' on any mapboard. North and South face a hexSIDE in that case, while West and East face a hexSPINE - to see that try turning the compass rose in VASL! If a cardinal direction were oriented to a hexSPINE instead, then the semi-cardinals would be oriented to a hexSIDE. This is because a hexagon has 6 sides and 6 hexspines, whereas there are a total of 8 cardinal and semi-cardinal directions.
 

ibncalb

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2004
Messages
667
Reaction score
414
Location
La Turballe
Country
llFrance
21106

21107

Science smience, just turn the head.

I do wish battlefields could conform to North is up South is down.
 

sebosebi

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2016
Messages
261
Reaction score
507
Location
Rome
Country
llItaly
21109

2. If RED line is the North you would agree that the GREEN line along that hexspine is West, for the SouthWest direction we meant the BLUE line even if it is more a SSW, but the true SW is not represented as a (alternate) hexgrain, so neither as a hexside or as a hexspine, and after all the BLUE line hexspine is the only hexspine usable that is South and also West. We could publish an errata and define it as South-south-west hexspine, we will think about it.
 

sebosebi

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2016
Messages
261
Reaction score
507
Location
Rome
Country
llItaly
1. First footnote to CG11 Air Support calls for a possible Air Leader and refers the player to PRK30. That should actually read PRK 31.
This has escaped our powerful proofreads and will go in the erratas, thanks! :)
 

aslwynn

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2003
Messages
438
Reaction score
21
Location
Vernon, BC, Canada
Country
llCanada
View attachment 21109

2. If RED line is the North you would agree that the GREEN line along that hexspine is West, for the SouthWest direction we meant the BLUE line even if it is more a SSW, but the true SW is not represented as a (alternate) hexgrain, so neither as a hexside or as a hexspine, and after all the BLUE line hexspine is the only hexspine usable that is South and also West. We could publish an errata and define it as South-south-west hexspine, we will think about it.
Yes. This just created a lot of unnecessary headscratching for us. :)
 
Top