More questions on Gun Batteries

Jon

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2005
Messages
1,533
Reaction score
125
Location
Albany, Australia
Country
llAustralia
Hi

Some questions on Gun Batteries and TEM

Situation 1:

8535

The Japanese squad is in Crest Status in Gun battery hex W27. CtR2.1 says "All rules for Crest Status (B20.9) apply"
a) The US Mtr fires from Roofles building hex V24 (as per CtR 1.2) and scores a hit. The TEM on the IFT effects role is 0. Correct?
[As an aside, the EX in CtR2.1 is incorrect because Mortars do not use Case Q DRM on TH rolls]

b) The US squad in V24 level 1 now fires is IFP at the Japanese unit. Does the Japanese unit receive TEM of +2 (as per Crest rules B20.9) or +3 as the CtR2.1 EX states? Thee actual CtR2.1 rule says units IN the Gun battery receive +3 TEM, but a unit in Crest Status is not IN the gun battery

c) The Japanese squad in Crest Status is now fired upon by the ADJACENT US squad in hex X27. What TEM applies? As per the Crest rules (B20.9), Crest status benefits should not apply as the US squad has a LOS INTO the Gun battery depression hex. So does the Japanese squad receive +2 Crest DRM, +3 Gun battery or 0 DRM as per B20.9?

Situation 2:

8536 DRM

The Japanese squad in W27 is now IN the Gun Battery.

a) The US units in V24 level1no longer have LOS to the Japanese unit. Correct?

b) The ADJACENT US squad in X27 fires at the Japanese unit. What TEM does the Japanese unit receive?
CtR2.1 says a unit IN a Gun Battery receives +3 DRM to all Direct Fire attacks. Is this correct for this case? [I picture the Gun battery as like an empty concrete swimming pool and am struggling to see how a unit IN the Depression receives +3TEM to PBF coming from the ADJACENT higher level , grenades being tossed down, etc

I'm also wondering why a unit IN a Gun Battery receives a +5DRM to all Indirect Fire/OBA/NOBA/Aerial attacks whenDesigner Note 18 says the guns and crews in a Gun Battery were "extremely vulnerable to counter-battery fire and aerial attacks" I'm not sure a +5 DRM is "extremely vulnerable" :)

Situation 3

8537

In Gun battery hex V27 there is the following:
4-4-8 squad in Crest Status
4-4-7 squad IN the Gun battery
3-4-7 squad located in the Stone building that leads to the Powder magazine
There is no unit in the powder Magazine (the Cellar Location of the Stone building)

a) Any suggestion on how to differentiate who is IN the building and who is just IN the Gun Battery (other then memory)?

b) The US units in V25 Level 1 have LOS to only the Japanese unit in Crest status, so
- The US squad IFP can affect only the Crest Japanese unit
- The US Mtr can fire HE at the hex as it sees the crest unit. If it hits the Crest unit, it is attacked with 0 DRM (B20.9). The out of LOS Japanes units would also be hit by the Mortar as per C3.33.
What DRM does the 4-4-7 IN the Gun Battery receive, is it +5 as per CtR 2.1
What DRM does the 3-4-7 in the Fortified Stone building receive, is it +5 as per CtR2.1 or +4 for a Fortified Stone building [B23.921]

c) The ADJACENT US squad in U26 fires IFP at V27. This squad has LOS INTO the Gun Battery Depression hex.What TEMs apply to
- the 4-4-8 in Crest status? [+2 TEM, +3 TEM or 0 TEM?
- the 4-4-7 IN the Gun battery? [+3 TEM or 0 TEM?]
- the 3-4-7 in the fortified Stone building? [+4 TEM?]

Thanks in advance

Cheers
Jon
 

rreinesch

Elder Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2005
Messages
1,501
Reaction score
880
Location
Austin, TX
Country
llUnited States
Hi

Some questions on Gun Batteries and TEM

Situation 1:

View attachment 8535

The Japanese squad is in Crest Status in Gun battery hex W27. CtR2.1 says "All rules for Crest Status (B20.9) apply"
a) The US Mtr fires from Roofles building hex V24 (as per CtR 1.2) and scores a hit. The TEM on the IFT effects role is 0. Correct?
[As an aside, the EX in CtR2.1 is incorrect because Mortars do not use Case Q DRM on TH rolls]
Yes, the IFT DRM is 0. Not sure what you are referring to as an inaccuracy as we note that the DRM is +0 as noted in B20.92.

b) The US squad in V24 level 1 now fires is IFP at the Japanese unit. Does the Japanese unit receive TEM of +2 (as per Crest rules B20.9) or +3 as the CtR2.1 EX states? Thee actual CtR2.1 rule says units IN the Gun battery receive +3 TEM, but a unit in Crest Status is not IN the gun battery
The TEM is +3 for the units in Crest status. The reason that the TEM is +2 in B20.9 is that it makes an equivalency with being in Crest status to the same as being in a foxhole. Well in our case that foxhole is lined with concrete. The TEM DRM is +3. Yes they are IN the Drepression hex that is the Gun Battery. You are in Crest status in that Depression hex (which happens to be a Gun Battery hex), which is no different than being in Crest status of a gully.

c) The Japanese squad in Crest Status is now fired upon by the ADJACENT US squad in hex X27. What TEM applies? As per the Crest rules (B20.9), Crest status benefits should not apply as the US squad has a LOS INTO the Gun battery depression hex. So does the Japanese squad receive +2 Crest DRM, +3 Gun battery or 0 DRM as per B20.9?
The units in Crest status would have 0 TEM DRM benefits as per B20.92.

Situation 2:

View attachment 8536 DRM

The Japanese squad in W27 is now IN the Gun Battery.

a) The US units in V24 level1no longer have LOS to the Japanese unit. Correct?
Correct.

b) The ADJACENT US squad in X27 fires at the Japanese unit. What TEM does the Japanese unit receive?
CtR2.1 says a unit IN a Gun Battery receives +3 DRM to all Direct Fire attacks. Is this correct for this case? [I picture the Gun battery as like an empty concrete swimming pool and am struggling to see how a unit IN the Depression receives +3TEM to PBF coming from the ADJACENT higher level , grenades being tossed down, etc

I'm also wondering why a unit IN a Gun Battery receives a +5DRM to all Indirect Fire/OBA/NOBA/Aerial attacks whenDesigner Note 18 says the guns and crews in a Gun Battery were "extremely vulnerable to counter-battery fire and aerial attacks" I'm not sure a +5 DRM is "extremely vulnerable" :)
The TEM DRM to DF in this case is +3. It's not exactly like an empty swimming pool as there were lots of things to take cover behind (gun mounts, ammo boxes, replacement gun tubes. It certainly wasn't a pristine environment). The +5 is there for the same reason that foxholes and trenches get +4 vs OBA/Indirect Fire. While units were down in them, they were out of harms way for the most part from shrapnel flying around. Now if one of those shells landed IN the gun battery (i.e., a CH), then that -5 DRM is a bitch on the IFT.

Situation 3

View attachment 8537

In Gun battery hex V27 there is the following:
4-4-8 squad in Crest Status
4-4-7 squad IN the Gun battery
3-4-7 squad located in the Stone building that leads to the Powder magazine
There is no unit in the powder Magazine (the Cellar Location of the Stone building)

a) Any suggestion on how to differentiate who is IN the building and who is just IN the Gun Battery (other then memory)?
I would use a Fortified marker on top of the unit in the building.

b) The US units in V25 Level 1 have LOS to only the Japanese unit in Crest status, so
- The US squad IFP can affect only the Crest Japanese unit
Correct.
- The US Mtr can fire HE at the hex as it sees the crest unit. If it hits the Crest unit, it is attacked with 0 DRM (B20.9). The out of LOS Japanes units would also be hit by the Mortar as per C3.33.
Correct, but with different IFT DRMs based on their Location status.

What DRM does the 4-4-7 IN the Gun Battery receive, is it +5 as per CtR 2.1
Yes, unless it is a CH.

What DRM does the 3-4-7 in the Fortified Stone building receive, is it +5 as per CtR2.1 or +4 for a Fortified Stone building [B23.921]
+4 for a Fortified Stone Building.

c) The ADJACENT US squad in U26 fires IFP at V27. This squad has LOS INTO the Gun Battery Depression hex.What TEMs apply to
- the 4-4-8 in Crest status? [+2 TEM, +3 TEM or 0 TEM?
0 TEM

- the 4-4-7 IN the Gun battery? [+3 TEM or 0 TEM?]
+3 TEM

- the 3-4-7 in the fortified Stone building? [+4 TEM?]
+4 TEM
 

Jon

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2005
Messages
1,533
Reaction score
125
Location
Albany, Australia
Country
llAustralia
Hi
Yes, the IFT DRM is 0. Not sure what you are referring to as an inaccuracy as we note that the DRM is +0 as noted in B20.92.
The CtR2.1 EX reads (with my emphasis) "If the American squad possessed a 60mm mortar instead of the HMG and fired at the same Japanese, the shot would incur a +0 TH DRM to Crest Status (B20.92)"

Not a gamebreaker but Mortars do not ever use TEM (Case Q) TH DRMs. This sentence should read something like "If the American squad possessed a 60mm mortar instead of the HMG and fired at the same Japanese, scoring a hit, there would be a +0 TEM DRM on the resulting Effects DR to Crest Status (B20.92)"

Cheers
Jon
 

rreinesch

Elder Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2005
Messages
1,501
Reaction score
880
Location
Austin, TX
Country
llUnited States
Hi


The CtR2.1 EX reads (with my emphasis) "If the American squad possessed a 60mm mortar instead of the HMG and fired at the same Japanese, the shot would incur a +0 TH DRM to Crest Status (B20.92)"

Not a gamebreaker but Mortars do not ever use TEM (Case Q) TH DRMs. This sentence should read something like "If the American squad possessed a 60mm mortar instead of the HMG and fired at the same Japanese, scoring a hit, there would be a +0 TEM DRM on the resulting Effects DR to Crest Status (B20.92)"

Cheers
Jon
Ah, gotcha. Good catch. I knew that, but I sure as hell didn't say it right.
 

Jon

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2005
Messages
1,533
Reaction score
125
Location
Albany, Australia
Country
llAustralia
Hi

Thanks for all the answers

The TEM is +3 for the units in Crest status. The reason that the TEM is +2 in B20.9 is that it makes an equivalency with being in Crest status to the same as being in a foxhole. Well in our case that foxhole is lined with concrete. The TEM DRM is +3. Yes they are IN the Drepression hex that is the Gun Battery. You are in Crest status in that Depression hex (which happens to be a Gun Battery hex), which is no different than being in Crest status of a gully.
If units in Crest Status of a Gun Battery are to receive +3 TEM to direct fire, might I suggest that the last sentence of CtR2.1 should read
"All rules for Crest Status (B20.9) apply (EXC: the entrenchment TEM of B20.91 for Direct Fire is +3, not +2)"

This would then match the CtR2.1 EX for Direct Fire against a Crest Status unit and remove the confusion it creats (for me anyway) that CtR2.1 curently reads that the TEM is +3 for units IN the Gun battery while for Crest status units, all B20.9 rules apply (since the B20.9 rule only grants +2 TEM)

Thanks again

Cheers
Jon
 

Will Fleming

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2003
Messages
4,306
Reaction score
379
Location
Adrift on the Pequod
Country
llUnited States
So a unit IN the gun battery (+5 vs OBA), but not in the fortified building semi-location there is less vulnerable to OBA (+4 vs OBA)? The guys IN the cellar would get +5 vs OBA? (+4 for fortified stone building, +1 for the 'semi-location' above) or would they only get +4 vs OBA?

As for CH's, there probably isn't much difference between a 30 (-4) and a 30 (-5) shot. Pretty much the same results, especially with a stacking limit of 1.
 

rreinesch

Elder Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2005
Messages
1,501
Reaction score
880
Location
Austin, TX
Country
llUnited States
So a unit IN the gun battery (+5 vs OBA), but not in the fortified building semi-location there is less vulnerable to OBA (+4 vs OBA)? The guys IN the cellar would get +5 vs OBA? (+4 for fortified stone building, +1 for the 'semi-location' above) or would they only get +4 vs OBA?

As for CH's, there probably isn't much difference between a 30 (-4) and a 30 (-5) shot. Pretty much the same results, especially with a stacking limit of 1.
Correct.
 

ASLSARGE

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2008
Messages
1,477
Reaction score
302
Location
Arizona
Country
llUnited States
So a unit IN the gun battery (+5 vs OBA), but not in the fortified building semi-location there is less vulnerable to OBA (+4 vs OBA)? The guys IN the cellar would get +5 vs OBA? (+4 for fortified stone building, +1 for the 'semi-location' above) or would they only get +4 vs OBA?

As for CH's, there probably isn't much difference between a 30 (-4) and a 30 (-5) shot. Pretty much the same results, especially with a stacking limit of 1.
Don't know if this helps or not. The gun battery rules were designed to stay simple, yet try to convey something not so simple. The +5 to OBA, if you are considering the gun battery location like a swimming pool, would be all out of proportion. In reality, the outer walls inside of the gun battery had numerous doorways and rooms. No way to design that into an ASL product without throwing everything out of proportion, so I designed for effect. When the freight train sounds filled the air, guys in the gun battery would naturally seek the cover inside those reinforced concrete doorways and rooms to avoid the incoming OBA shells. Those rooms went pretty far back (into the hill if you will) so, yes, they would provide more cover than the fortified building. which could be very easily hit directly.
 

rreinesch

Elder Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2005
Messages
1,501
Reaction score
880
Location
Austin, TX
Country
llUnited States
Is the building in a 'gun battery' a rally location/destination?

Does this change if the building is already full?
Yes. If it is full, then the guys are basically SOL as any overstacked units in the hex as subject to elimination and CVP awarded to the opponent.
 
Top