Is whoever telling you this, also telling you to look at page DN19 of the rules? Notice Note J? Yes, there is also a 228.The initial forces of this game itemise I1 as 228's with the French.
I am told despite this that this is not correct.
Can anyone please tell me WHAT forces ARE I1 .
Are we looking at the same thing. It saysIndeed. Read the footnotes for RG I1 (and I2 and so on) and you will see you need to roll on the appropriate table to determine what squads types you receive. The 228 is there to man the 37* Inf Gun recv'd by the company.