defending Russia

big ed

Reaction score
I have been playing EA hotseat since december. i'm on my 5th or so try. i'm having problems with defending Russia. the latest they have held out is 12/41. While I know the problem could be related to playing solo. I've been expeimenting as with different tactics to see what works. my latest is defending the entire border, staying out of finland and placing mobile troops in "fire brigades" at various spots. Moscow fell in 11/41. the finns took leningrad and stalingrad fell in 12/41. Should I try a small trip wire force on the border and defend farter back? any suggestions would be great.

sapper32

Reaction score
Country
ll
Hi there im no expert but what i tend to do and what some others seem to do is defend the forward areas with NKVD units,make the Axis player use valuable time and maybe some losses before he gets to the bulk of the Red army then pray the reinforcments turn up and throw them into the line,attack when you can though the Axis forces can get pretty stretched hope this helps one of the EA experts will give you some valuable tips no doubt.

Ian

Mark Stevens

Europe Aflame Forum Moderator
Reaction score
Country
ll
That's about it, really. Entrench the rifle corps behind major river lines with the mechanised in reserve, try to utilise the Stalin Line forts, leave the NKVD forward in towns, woods or swamps, blow the bridges, KEEP THE RED AIR FORCE OUT OF RANGE FOR THE FIRST MONTH, as you know the Soviets do get hordes of reinforcements, remember that Moscow and Stalingrad are the two key cities.

Having said that, I usually get beaten and I helped design the thing.

You will get an awful lot more out of the scenario if you can find a human opponent.

big ed

Reaction score