C5.1 - Firing outside CA

commissar1969

Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
319
Reaction score
12
Location
Martin, TN
Country
llUnited States
During the opponent's MPh, a T34-85 (360 degree Gun mount) changes its TCA (only) 2 hexspines in order to DFF against a target. It fires its CMG and then its MA (no ROF). Another target comes into view and in order to Intensive Fire on it, the T34-85 has to change its TCA one more hexspine.

As regards its only it C5.1 TH penalty for changing TCA on the second shot (only): would the T34-85 pay +3 (total number of hexspines changed in that phase) or +1 (the number of hexspines changed for that second shot)? Also, could you give me a rules citation, because I don't seem to be able to find it, although I'm certain I've read it.

Thanks,

Commie
 

jrv

Forum Guru
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,058
Reaction score
5,200
Location
Teutoburger Wald
Country
llIceland
During the opponent's MPh, a T34-85 (360 degree Gun mount) changes its TCA (only) 2 hexspines in order to DFF against a target. It fires its CMG and then its MA (no ROF). Another target comes into view and in order to Intensive Fire on it, the T34-85 has to change its TCA one more hexspine.

As regards its only it C5.1 TH penalty for changing TCA on the second shot (only): would the T34-85 pay +3 (total number of hexspines changed in that phase) or +1 (the number of hexspines changed for that second shot)? Also, could you give me a rules citation, because I don't seem to be able to find it, although I'm certain I've read it.
+1 only. D3.51.

JR
 

commissar1969

Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
319
Reaction score
12
Location
Martin, TN
Country
llUnited States
+1 only. D3.51.

JR

Thanks so much. One more quick related question, if you don't mind . . .

Let's assume instead of a T34-85, it were a Panther with a Slow Turret Traverse. On the second shot, would the Panther have to pay +1 or +2? In other words, does that +2 only count for the very first time you turn the turret or does it apply every time you take a shot for the first hexspine traversed?
 

jrv

Forum Guru
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,058
Reaction score
5,200
Location
Teutoburger Wald
Country
llIceland
Let's assume instead of a T34-85, it were a Panther with a Slow Turret Traverse. On the second shot, would the Panther have to pay +1 or +2? In other words, does that +2 only count for the very first time you turn the turret or does it apply every time you take a shot for the first hexspine traversed?
The first CA spine change for a particular attack costs +2 for a ST or RST vehicle, regardless of whether it has changed TCA before or not. For a Panther the DRM on the first attack is +3 and is +2 on the second attack. This is regardless of whether the Panther kept ROF or not.

JR
 
Last edited:

commissar1969

Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
319
Reaction score
12
Location
Martin, TN
Country
llUnited States
The first CA spine change for a particular attack costs +2 for a ST or RST vehicle, regardless of whether it has changed TCA before or not. For a Panther he DRM on the first attack is +3 and is +2 on the second attack. This is regardless of whether the Panther kept ROF or not.

JR
Awesome - thanks, man.
 
Top