(A8.4) Final Fire and ATR use

almogaver266

Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2004
Messages
222
Reaction score
7
Location
Catalan Countries
Country
llGibraltar
Hi all, there is a doubt when playing 3 RTR in the rain

A German 4-6-8 with a ATR fires in the British MPh at a HS that moved adjacent to it using First Fire, now, another British squad moves adjacent to the 4-6-8 and is fired by it using SFF, thus the German squad is marked with a final fire counter.

Then, a A9 cruiser tank moves three hexes away, in the LOS of the 4-6-8...Can the 4-6-8, marked with final fire, fire its ATR against the A9?

Thanks
 

Brian W

Elder Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2003
Messages
7,163
Reaction score
1,065
Location
USA
Country
llUnited States
almogaver266 said:
Then, a A9 cruiser tank moves three hexes away, in the LOS of the 4-6-8...Can the 4-6-8, marked with final fire, fire its ATR against the A9?
No; once it used SFF it's fire options are limited to FPF only. The ATR is marked Final Fire as well as the squad.
 

Yarlis

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2003
Messages
113
Reaction score
7
Location
Spain
Country
llSpain
almogaver266 said:
Hi all, there is a doubt when playing 3 RTR in the rain

A German 4-6-8 with a ATR fires in the British MPh at a HS that moved adjacent to it using First Fire...
Suppose the German 4-6-8 fires only its Inherent FP in First Fire at the adjacent HS. Could it then fire an ATR/PSK/BAZ at an AFV moving 2 hexes away?

And, supposing the German squad had already made First Fire and SFF (but only using Inherent FP), could it then use an ATR/PSK/BAZ vs an AFV 2 hexes away? And vs an ADJACENT AFV?

Thanks
 
Last edited:

Chas Argent

Play to the end.
Joined
Jan 28, 2003
Messages
6,251
Reaction score
443
Location
Catonsville, MD
Country
llUnited States
Yarlis said:
Suppose the German 4-6-8 fires only its Inherent FP in First Fire at the adjacent HS. Could it then fire an ATR/PSK/BAZ at an AFV moving 2 hexes away?
Yes, as long as it did not Cower, which would result in it being marked as Final Fired.

Yarlis said:
And, supposing the German squad had already made First Fire and SFF (but only using Inherent FP), could it then use an ATR/PSK/BAZ vs an AFV 2 hexes away?
No; because it has used SFF (and is thus marked Final Fired) it no longer retains the abilty to fire the ATR.

Yarlis said:
And vs an ADJACENT AFV?
No; same as above.
 

Larry

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2003
Messages
3,622
Reaction score
134
Location
Guada La Habra
Country
llUnited States
Yes, as first fire; No precluded in SFF; No (same).

A8.1 -- units that use their IFP place eligible SW above the first fire counter so that those SW can still fire without the target selection problems of SFF.

A8.3 -- units must use MG/IFE in SFF or forfeit the right to use the FP/**SW** at all. Only IFP (small arms), MG and IFE can be used in SFF.

Once you've used SFF, the unit cannot fire anything except as part of FPF.

A8.31 -- FPF may use IFP, MG, and IFE only and at adjacent targets only. Since a Bazooka is not IFP, MG, or IFE, it cannot be fired in FPF.

Note A22.611 was changed to disallow use in all but first fire. C13.31 always disallowed use of PF in SFF and FPF citing A8.3 and A8.31.
 
Top