Jon
Senior Member
> Rule: D7.1, D7.11, D7.15
> Question:1)An AFV announces an Overrun before it enters an Open Ground Hex containing an enemy squad. It then enters and pays the MP cost for entry [COT + 1/4 of printed MP for OVR]
> The AFV is destroyed by Defensive First Fire prior to the OVR resolution, becoming a burning wreck.
> As per D7.11, although the vehicle is destroyed, the OVR will still be resolved but with half FP.
> Will the enemy squad receive a SMOKE DRM to the OVR attack, as a result of the Smoke from the blazing wreck of the Overrunning vehicle?
No.
> 2): An Armored Car (AC)declares an OVR against an enemy squad in an ADJACENT hex across a Hedge hexside [that is, the AC crosses a hedge in entering the OVR hex containing the enemy unit]
> The OVR MP expenditure is announced as a combined expenditure with that for entrance of the hex, as the AC enters the OVR hex [D7.1]
> The AC must make a Bog Check DR. This is done prior to OVR resolution [D7.1]. The Armored Car Bogs and as per B9.4, the AC will be Bogged in the hex it attempted to leave, not in the OVR hex it was trying to enter.
> Does the OVR still occur (at half firepower)?
No.
> Question:1)An AFV announces an Overrun before it enters an Open Ground Hex containing an enemy squad. It then enters and pays the MP cost for entry [COT + 1/4 of printed MP for OVR]
> The AFV is destroyed by Defensive First Fire prior to the OVR resolution, becoming a burning wreck.
> As per D7.11, although the vehicle is destroyed, the OVR will still be resolved but with half FP.
> Will the enemy squad receive a SMOKE DRM to the OVR attack, as a result of the Smoke from the blazing wreck of the Overrunning vehicle?
No.
> 2): An Armored Car (AC)declares an OVR against an enemy squad in an ADJACENT hex across a Hedge hexside [that is, the AC crosses a hedge in entering the OVR hex containing the enemy unit]
> The OVR MP expenditure is announced as a combined expenditure with that for entrance of the hex, as the AC enters the OVR hex [D7.1]
> The AC must make a Bog Check DR. This is done prior to OVR resolution [D7.1]. The Armored Car Bogs and as per B9.4, the AC will be Bogged in the hex it attempted to leave, not in the OVR hex it was trying to enter.
> Does the OVR still occur (at half firepower)?
No.