Building LOS

Doug Leslie

Forum Guru
Joined
Dec 6, 2017
Messages
1,962
Reaction score
2,094
Location
Scotland
Country
llUnited Kingdom
Is there LOS between a unit on the ground level of P8 and level one of O9? I would have thought not but the VASL LOS tool disagrees.

31722
 

PresterJohn

Elder Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2022
Messages
1,601
Reaction score
1,058
Location
The Orient
Country
llAustralia
It's perhaps unfair to say the LOS tool disagrees. It's probably better to say that it has not been coded for that situation.
 

Bill Kohler

Elder Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2003
Messages
1,109
Reaction score
859
Location
North Carolina
First name
Bill
Country
llUnited States
I say no. I explored this issue previously, and concluded that what matters is where the LOS crosses the hexside, if it's within the building depiction or not. (See the last sentence of B23.25.)
I sent a Q&A to MMP about it a couple of months back but haven't gotten a reply.


My conclusions:
Open LOS between different floors:
31725

31726

31727





Blocked LOS:
31728

31729

31730




Borderline Case:
31731





This question is also pertinent to Factory TEM and Factory MF/MP.
 
Last edited:

Stewart

Elder Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2006
Messages
3,713
Reaction score
732
Location
Russia
Country
llRussia
Is there LOS between a unit on the ground level of P8 and level one of O9? I would have thought not but the VASL LOS tool disagrees.

View attachment 31722
Rule #1: The LOS tool is not the rule. Consider it a cheat sheet that is interpreting the rules.

Paper and eASLRB LOS rules have it blocked.
 

Larry

Elder Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2003
Messages
5,588
Reaction score
1,942
Location
Guada La Habra
Country
llUnited States
If there is not LOS between P9 and O8, then the ground level units are not ADJACENT. Broken unit in P9, KEU rolls up on O9. If there is not LOS, then the broken unit is not DM.

The rule is A6.2.

LOS extends into or out of obstacles, but not through them into hexes beyond the obstacle except in
certain cases wherein the target/firer are at an elevation ≥ the height of the obstacle or are adjacent to
a hexside obstacle.
P9 and O8 are clearly in obstacles. There is a piece of O8 that requires LOS to leave and reenter the building and then enter P9. The LOS extends out of the obstacle.

Consider board 18a. Does the separate structure in P6 block LOS from P6 to Q7? How about P8 to Q10? It is interesting to see a statement that the rule says "x" without any effort to use the rule and apply it.

31787
 
Top