B23.83 Rooftop Location Not Building Location ...

Khill

Elder Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2004
Messages
2,197
Reaction score
821
Location
MAINE
Country
llIceland
Right on Keith! The Russians would Control the Factory Building...

But the Russians do not control the hexes containing Germans on the rooftop. LOL Go ponder that for a while.

However, if the Russians follow the Germans up the stairwells onto the rooftop, instead of clearing the last three ground level hexes containing Germans, the Germans still control the factory. The SS 8-0 is on the roof taunting "up here, Russe, up here, ya dumb Russe!"

Gotta LOVE this game.
ya, thats what I thought

but I bought the German propaganda

not sure it would have made THAT much of a difference in our game

tough being a dumb Russe

at least is was fun
 
Joined
Apr 13, 2011
Messages
120
Reaction score
16
Location
Westerly RI
ya, thats what I thought

but I bought the German propaganda

not sure it would have made THAT much of a difference in our game

tough being a dumb Russe

at least is was fun
Keith,

That scenario was so much fun, I want to try it together again sometime! I am going to write up a short AAR about it and post it on gamesquad. So why dont you send me your Russian perspectives from our playing - including some of the notes you took! I will incorporate your thoughts with mine and it will make a better AAR. Send me an email when you get a moment please. I'd like your pregame and postgame thoughts. Randy
 

Spencer Armstrong

Canard de Guerre
Joined
Mar 7, 2009
Messages
8,624
Reaction score
1,683
Location
Gainesville, FL
First name
Spencer
Country
llUnited States
Yessir. Keith and I had played The Ceramic Factory a couple of weeks ago, which led to my rules thread on rooftop locations not considered building locations.

It was a lot of fun Spencer, I highly recommend it.

Randy
Kewl. I owe somebody a setup. Not just "to play" but really "in the queue." :D

S
 

klasmalmstrom

Forum Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
20,446
Reaction score
8,284
Location
Sweden
Country
llSweden
...IMO, hex control is gained by gaining control of the ground Location without any other enemy unit in the Ground Location....
No, in order to Control the hex there can't be any enemy units in the hex in same/other Locations of the hex.

See the A26.15 example:
"...During the RtPh, the 4-4-7 routs back to the upper level of V2. In the next German MPh, the concealed 5-4-8 enters the ground level of V3. The German player already Controls the ground level Location and hex, but if he didn’t, he would gain Control of them now. He does not gain Control of the building since the broken 4-4-7 is still an armed enemy unit and thus prevents the German player from gaining Control. The 5-4-8 continues to the ground level of V2, gaining Control of that Location (although this Control by a concealed unit need not be declared at this time), but not of the hex due to the 4-4-7 in the upper level...."

When see the old version of A26.11 (quoted in post #42 above), it does look like the re-write might have changed (intintionally or inadvertently) the rules as to whether a unit on a rooftop denies hex Control though.
 

Sparafucil3

Forum Guru
Joined
Oct 7, 2004
Messages
12,187
Reaction score
6,695
Location
USA
First name
Jim
Country
llUnited States
No, in order to Control the hex there can't be any enemy units in the hex in same/other Locations of the hex.

See the A26.15 example:
"...During the RtPh, the 4-4-7 routs back to the upper level of V2. In the next German MPh, the concealed 5-4-8 enters the ground level of V3. The German player already Controls the ground level Location and hex, but if he didn’t, he would gain Control of them now. He does not gain Control of the building since the broken 4-4-7 is still an armed enemy unit and thus prevents the German player from gaining Control. The 5-4-8 continues to the ground level of V2, gaining Control of that Location (although this Control by a concealed unit need not be declared at this time), but not of the hex due to the 4-4-7 in the upper level...."

When see the old version of A26.11 (quoted in post #42 above), it does look like the re-write might have changed (intintionally or inadvertently) the rules as to whether a unit on a rooftop denies hex Control though.
We eventually got to this without you. :) -- jim
 

Aaron Cleavin

Elder Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2004
Messages
3,094
Reaction score
555
Location
Sydney
Country
llAustralia
Ok, I kind of lost track in the thread.
Klas lost track, but there is no EXC for that in the RB, so it is NA, have to restart the discussion! :)

Or we can invoke A.2 but get a Perry Sez to add to the Klas List on resolution systems around the ultra rare Klas tracking error
 
Top