Withdrawal from CC

fanatic+1

Ryan Kent
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
314
Reaction score
37
Location
San Rafael, CA
Country
llUnited States
May an unconcealed unit attempt to withdraw from CC before a Melee develops? What about a concealed unit?
 

Binchois

Too many words...
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2016
Messages
1,513
Reaction score
571
Location
Michigan
First name
Lester
Country
llUnited States
Ordinarily, you may not attempt to withdraw from CC until Melee exists. However, Infiltration or an Ambush may allow one side or the other to withdraw at the end of the initial CCPh.

The same is true whether a unit is concealed or not, though a concealed unit may opt not to attack (so as not to automatically lose its ?ment). Should concealment still be maintained at the end of the CCPh, the concealed units would not be held in Melee and would be free to leave the hex at the next opportunity.
 

mgmasl

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2006
Messages
4,135
Reaction score
250
Location
Cadiz
First name
Miguel
Country
llSpain
A concealed unit is not in melee.. it may move away next turn
 

jrv

Forum Guru
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,292
Reaction score
5,374
Location
Teutoburger Wald
Country
llIceland
A concealed unit is not in melee.. it may move away next turn
More than that, if there are no unconcealed units for one side, a Melee doesn't develop.

That said, neither side may declare a withdrawal attempt until there is a Melee. Infiltration and ambush can allow units to withdraw even if there is no Melee.

JR
 

Mr Incredible

Rod loves red undies
Joined
Oct 26, 2004
Messages
2,465
Reaction score
358
Location
Perth, Australia
Country
llAustralia
That was it is sometimes handy to remain concealed and not attack in CC in your opponent's CCPh so you can simply move away in the next turn.
 

jrv

Forum Guru
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,292
Reaction score
5,374
Location
Teutoburger Wald
Country
llIceland
That was it is sometimes handy to remain concealed and not attack in CC in your opponent's CCPh so you can simply move away in the next turn.
Then there's that awkward moment when your opponent rolls a three anyway. @J. R. Tracy alternate universe: you rolled a 2! In some alternate universe alternate you is dancing on the table. Oh, the humanity!

JR
 
Last edited:
Top