Why do we want to win?

bendizoid

Official ***** Dickweed
Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
Well your attitude is certainly awesome!???
Amongst the wisest of words ~”No matter what life throws at you, you get to choose your own attitude. Nobody can take that away from you unless you let them.”

Last edited:

Actionjick

Forum Guru
Reaction score
First name
Darryl
Country
llUnited States
I almost called Fish a few days before he passed but my phone was on low battery and I knew a call to Fish would be at least an hour.
Lmao! Sorry you didn't get to talk to him but your point is well taken. Much like his baths phone calls with Fish were lengthy and leisurely. He only had a shower at his house, we only had a tub. Baths here were his treat for himself.

Last edited:

skarper

Reaction score
Country
ll
It's all a question of balance. No desire or effort to win a game spoils it. Too much aggression about winning ruins it.

When I started playing ASL and SL I was a sore loser. I was young and had some baggage from childhood I needed to drop.

Now I'm old and while I still do my best to win, I accept it when things don't go my way.

I think ASL is not suitable for highly competitive play. Over a series a games the better player will win more, but with so many dice rolls things can easily go wrong and lead to an upset.

If the gap between players is wide, then the better player will win nearly all the time. I don't think that would work as a competitive challenge though, and I imagine such games would be very much about teaching the game.

Actionjick

Forum Guru
Reaction score
First name
Darryl
Country
llUnited States
It's all a question of balance. No desire or effort to win a game spoils it. Too much aggression about winning ruins it.

When I started playing ASL and SL I was a sore loser. I was young and had some baggage from childhood I needed to drop.

Now I'm old and while I still do my best to win, I accept it when things don't go my way.