Who was your mentor(s)?

RobZagnut

Elder Member
Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
Who was your mentor(s)? What did he/they teach you? Are they still playing?

My mentor is my best friend Jess Ward. Back in 1991 I ran into Jess at the Spokane Game Faire. A couple of our friends were playing in a long game of Civilization, so we were standing around watching them when we started talking about ASL. I had played a couple of all infantry scenarios, but didn't know squat about AFVs. He offered to teach me AFVs, drove home and grabbed everything we needed to play Blazin Chariots. Boy, did I learn AFVs that day.

Jess was a B-52 pilot at Fairchild AFB living in Spokane and we started playing once a week. He introduced me to his buddy Pete Dahlin who has a navigator on another B-52 and I started playing Pete once a week too. Both these guys taught me how to play.

Jess plays occasionally. I've lost touch with Pete, but I think he still might be involved in the Korean War module. Jess is still my best friend since the 90's. Our boys grew up together, our families took summer vacations to Glacier Park, Yellowstone, Mt Saint Helens, etc and we still go out to dinner and catch baseball games in the summer. In October of 2018 we're going to climb Mt. Kilimanjaro. Many of my best friends were made from playing ASL; Rob & Jeff Wirthlin, James Lamphere, Christian Daughtery, Dave Grenon, and Darrell Lembcke to name a few.

hongkongwargamer

Forum Guru
Reaction score
Country
llUnited Kingdom
A couple of people started me off with ASL and I have a number of teachers, out of which - one mentor.

My ASL journey started when I, after trying to read a couple of pages from Chapter A, contacted the Hong Kong Society of Wargamers for permission to see one of their games live. When I got there, Lawrence Ho, Simon Lai, Li Tai Wah and Erwin Lau told me they don't allow spectators - but "HERE, you got this Panzer". I was made part of an ASL game.

The rulebook came alive for me after that.