This is my question on this and please inform me if the "newer rules" (BOB - Big Orange Book rules not starter kit rules) state this differently now days.In the book, it seemed to me that flamethrowers could not be used during Subsequent Fire or Final Protective Fire Phase.
Can FT's be used on defensive fire?
BOB - A22.1 ... Long Range fire for a FT (even vehicular FT) is always limited to one hex beyond its Normal Range. FT FP is affected by LOS Hindrances and is halved for all forms of Area Fire (but not for use in the AFPh) and is reduced by cowering (7.9), but is never increased for any reason.
The section that states (but not for use in the AFPh) should be read that the normal half FP negative that happens to most items does not happen in the AFPh to FTs.
It shouldn't be read that FT FP is not to be used in the AFPh at all correct?
Is there another location in "BOB" that more clearly defines that portion of a sentence?