WarfareHQ Ladder Scoring System

KG Koz

Recruit
Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
I am relatively new to the WarfareHQ website and happy to be a member. I have enjoyed my Newbie Tournament experience (hopefully i'll get to move on to 2nd Round!) and feel that the warfareHQ members are a good group of wargames. That being said, I hope I do not offend anyone with the following comments.

To get to the point - I do not think I agree with the WarfareHQ ladder scoring system. I say "think" because I do not have what I would consider to be a solution and if I can be convinced that this is the best way I will conform and be a believer.

The current system is completely in the favor of active opponents who play many large games. Some people have no life (job, family, etc...) and are able to play on an almost continuous basis. This may mean that they are better than other WarfareHQ opponents, but not necessarily. Since points are gained even when losing an active player who loses continuously will have a good ranking.

My gut feeling is that an experience based scoring system would be better. An inexperienced player playing an experienced player would have more to gain, and likewise the experienced player would have more to lose. This would encourage experienced players to play experienced opponents.

Another advantage is that experienced players may be more likely to join the WarfareHq family if they felt their superior playing ability could translate into a quick rise through the ranks. The addition of more experienced WarfareHQ players would be good for everyone, I think.