Very Basic DFF Question

Velocette

Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2016
Messages
105
Reaction score
16
Location
Heart of Dixie; nose in ASLRB
Country
llUnited States
I should know the answer to this question; but it is late, I am tired, and I am letting my grogginess confuse me; my apologies

In the picture below, during the MPh, the 5-4-6 fired the MMG as DFF (did not keep rate) and broke the 2-4-7, placed DM & 2 RFP.

Later in the turn, a 5-4-8 enters the LOS of the 5-4-6. Can the Squad now use its inherent FP to fire at the 4-6-7?

OR is it restricted per A8.31 (can't fire at a target > closest KEU).

I say Yes, because the Squad has not yet exhausted its inherent FP First Fire capability and thus is not under the restrictions of Subsequent First Fire.

9933

Again my apologies for such a basic question.

VR,
Velo
 

klasmalmstrom

Forum Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
15,869
Reaction score
2,406
Location
Sweden
Country
llSweden
Later in the turn, a 5-4-8 enters the LOS of the 5-4-6. Can the Squad now use its inherent FP to fire at the 4-6-7?
Yes.

OR is it restricted per A8.31 (can't fire at a target > closest KEU).
No.

I say Yes, because the Squad has not yet exhausted its inherent FP First Fire capability and thus is not under the restrictions of Subsequent First Fire.
Correct.
 

Pyth

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2014
Messages
870
Reaction score
169
Location
Brooklyn NY
Country
llUnited States
An annoying little reminder (one which I frequently need which is why Im pointing it out here): Don't forget to put the covered arc marker on the MG when it fires from building / woods / rubble (the one in your example is in a building I think) if there's any chance you might fire again that phase -- Although rof is gone CA restricts SFF and FPF too.
 

Nearmiss

Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2013
Messages
164
Reaction score
24
Location
SE MD
Country
llUnited States
Standing "O" for Gordon's suggestion. I have the spot reserved for those counters.
 

Gordon

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2017
Messages
387
Reaction score
330
Country
llUnited States
Something along the lines of (just a quick test):99399940
 

Swiftandsure

Robin Reeve
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
16,338
Reaction score
1,896
Location
St-Légier
First name
Robin
Country
llSwitzerland
I rarely place the CA counter on the stack.
As the rules suggest, I place it along the hexside that initially is the median of the CA.
So hardly any counter clutter.
You would also need Prep Fire CA, btw.
 

Gordon

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2017
Messages
387
Reaction score
330
Country
llUnited States
Yes, I was considering Prep Fire counters as well. I'm really just seeing what people think/do in practice. Here's an alternate/less cluttered idea:
9942
 

Justiciar

Elder Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
4,857
Reaction score
1,429
Location
Within Range
Country
llUnited States
I would not clutter the counter with the MG image, just place a black triangle (or orange for the Prep and Purple for the "D") in the upper right corner of the counter. The edge is the same as the "barrel", plus this colored edge can be seen if you have a stack of counters with unfired units sitting atop 'fire' units/SW.
 

boylermaker

Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2012
Messages
299
Reaction score
126
Location
Virginia
Country
llUnited States
I would not clutter the counter with the MG image, just place a black triangle (or orange for the Prep and Purple for the "D") in the upper right corner of the counter. The edge is the same as the "barrel", plus this colored edge can be seen if you have a stack of counters with unfired units sitting atop 'fire' units/SW.
Or even just modify the base prep/defensive fire counters so that you can rotate them, and toggle the triangle on or off. Then there's one fewer counter that you have to go and find.
 

Justiciar

Elder Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
4,857
Reaction score
1,429
Location
Within Range
Country
llUnited States
Or even just modify the base prep/defensive fire counters so that you can rotate them, and toggle the triangle on or off. Then there's one fewer counter that you have to go and find.
I don't do VASL...I have not learned yet...but I was thinking of a physical counter when I saw the "concept" piece. But your extra layer sounds very useful for the VASLites of this world.
 

Gordon

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2017
Messages
387
Reaction score
330
Country
llUnited States
I like the suggestion of the colored corner.
9960
 

Swiftandsure

Robin Reeve
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
16,338
Reaction score
1,896
Location
St-Légier
First name
Robin
Country
llSwitzerland
I don't think that we need more markers.
The CA marker is easily placed along the hexspine separating the two first hexes of the CA, not adding to the counter clutter.
 

Justiciar

Elder Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
4,857
Reaction score
1,429
Location
Within Range
Country
llUnited States
I like the suggestion of the colored corner.
View attachment 9960
I know you probably won't want me to harp on...but you should still square of the triangle, that extra "thickness" will matter. your still too thin..and you don't ned the MG...b/c if its at the counter if at the top of the pile the triangle still makes the call, and if the counter is mid pile...the MG does not matter... BTE if you totally get into this, and I am NOT*** a VASL person you out to have a MG image by "nation"....
 

Justiciar

Elder Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
4,857
Reaction score
1,429
Location
Within Range
Country
llUnited States
I don't think that we need more markers.
The CA marker is easily placed along the hexspine separating the two first hexes of the CA, not adding to the counter clutter.
I think this seemed to be a VASL oriented marker/counter...

That said I think you totally missed the physical counter benefit...you don't use the MG stand alone counter any more...you use that looks like post #14 without the MG depiction...and the colored triangle substitutes for the MG.

But for the record I never use the MG counters as I can always recall which CA I am locked into...this is just an easy trait for me...not some attribute of acumen.
 
Top