VBM

Ed Donoghue

Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2019
Messages
109
Reaction score
78
Location
NC
Country
llUnited States
An AFV is in hex 47W8 (level 0) facing the hex spine between W7 (a level -1 valley) & U7 (a level 0 woods). The spine itself is totally in the U7 valley and the woods & center dot are totally on level 0 with room to bypass on level 0 if allowed. If the AFV moves forward into U7 using VBM is it on level 0 or -1?
 

klasmalmstrom

Forum Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
16,153
Reaction score
2,634
Location
Sweden
Country
llSweden
Any VBM along hexside 47V7-W7 puts the vehicles at Level 0.

A4.34:
"...If a unit is using Bypass (including VBM) along a Crest Line, and the obstacle it is Bypassing is on the higher level of that Crest Line, then the unit is also at that higher level (since a Crest Line itself cannot be Bypassed; 4.3). "
 

Attachments

Pyth

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2014
Messages
908
Reaction score
187
Location
Brooklyn NY
Country
llUnited States
Any VBM along hexside 47V7-W7 puts the vehicles at Level 0.

A4.34:
"...If a unit is using Bypass (including VBM) along a Crest Line, and the obstacle it is Bypassing is on the higher level of that Crest Line, then the unit is also at that higher level (since a Crest Line itself cannot be Bypassed; 4.3). "

So if the vehicle ends its movement along that spine (or takes D1F as it moves) LOS is traced to the CAFP (which itself seems clearly at -1) but considered at level 0 elevation? Is that correct?
 

bendizoid

Official ***** Dickweed
Joined
Sep 11, 2006
Messages
2,967
Reaction score
814
Location
Viet Nam
Country
llUnited States
It’s kinda strange because LOS is traced to this ‘floating’ spot above level 0. If it were a double crest line they would be floating up there at level one.
 

Ed Donoghue

Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2019
Messages
109
Reaction score
78
Location
NC
Country
llUnited States
It’s kinda strange because LOS is traced to this ‘floating’ spot above level 0. If it were a double crest line they would be floating up there at level one.
It’s kinda strange because LOS is traced to this ‘floating’ spot above level 0. If it were a double crest line they would be floating up there at level one.
Thanks for the response
 

jrv

Forum Guru
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,292
Reaction score
5,374
Location
Teutoburger Wald
Country
llIceland
It’s kinda strange because LOS is traced to this ‘floating’ spot above level 0. If it were a double crest line they would be floating up there at level one.
The ASL map can't be taken as a literal depiction at all times. The hex grid is a convenience but is not necessarily literally the location of the unit. The members of a squad in a hex are not all standing on top of each other totem pole like at the hex center. Another example, when firing at a unit with Wall Advantage in a hex with woods from the backside there may be no LOS to the wall (where if we were being literal, the unit would be), yet LOS is traced to the hex center and the TEM is +0. Look at the pretty map, then read the rules.

JR
 
Top