VASL AARs

pjh

Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
Hello everyone. I'm still quite new to both ASL and VASL, so perhaps this question is wrong-headed or easily answered: Is there a repository of VASL logfiles and/or save files that offer a 'complete' review of games people have played --- VASL AARs, so to speak?

The reason I ask is because, as someone learning ASL and its tactics, I like reading over AARs. Then, after playing a few PBEM games, I realized that, if we are careful in our naming conventions, I can 'string' together the various vlogs and create one vlog for the whole game, for post hoc analysis and review[1] --- an (quasi) automatically-generated AAR! I can click through this vlog file and add extra commentary or clean up commentary, and store it for easy access and review.

While obviously not the same as a blog/forum-post AAR, the fact that a VASL AAR is relatively easy to generate, I was surprised to find that there wasn't a big repository of them out there on the web (or at least my searching ability didn't turn any up).

I hope it is clear what I'm looking for; likely there is a reason VASL AARs aren't popular (or perhaps my searching ability is novice).

[1] I couldn't find a 'best practice' for naming conventions in PBEM games, but what I have started to do is the following naming convention: each vlog file has the TURN NUMBER followed by the initial of the ATTACKER followed by the iteration ('a' through 'z'), e.g., 1PJHa, 1PJHb, 1FDHa, 1FDHb, 1FDHc, 2PJHa, 2PJHb, etc. When finished I can just string the highest iterated version of each half-turn together to create on vlog for a review. (It is manual, but automation would be relatively easy, I'd think.)

Pacman Ghost

Reaction score
A maze of twisty little passages, all alike
Country
llAustralia