Valor of the Guards Q&A

MichalS

Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2018
Messages
84
Reaction score
82
Location
Bratislava & Wien
First name
Michal
Country
llSlovakia
You don't say! Pass my greetings from shutdown Bratislava.
In a proper Slovak household indeed slivovica never stops flowing... :D
 

Steve E7

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2007
Messages
612
Reaction score
223
Location
Wisconsin, USA
Country
llUnited States
VotG CG Max notation 12.6216

CGIII. Russian RG type I2 as an example. CG Max shows 3 red dot / 2 brown dot.
The slash denotes the meaning of "and" - is that correct?
So 5 total RG's may be purchased in the campaign, 3 with entry code red dot , and 2 with entry code brown dot.
 

EagleIV

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
1,155
Reaction score
360
Location
California
Country
llUnited States
VotG CG Max notation 12.6216

CGIII. Russian RG type I2 as an example. CG Max shows 3 red dot / 2 brown dot.
The slash denotes the meaning of "and" - is that correct?
So 5 total RG's may be purchased in the campaign, 3 with entry code red dot , and 2 with entry code brown dot.
Correct.
 

Steve E7

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2007
Messages
612
Reaction score
223
Location
Wisconsin, USA
Country
llUnited States
Commissar Exchange - at start OB given RG's

Seeing that the OB given RG's are not purchased, may the Russian player exchange using rule 12.6226 the leaders in them for Commissars? Or for the OB given RG's, is A25.22 followed.
Thank you


12.6226 COMMISSARS:
After all Infantry Coy RG have been purchased and all
leaders for them have been determined, a number of
these new leaders <= the number of Infantry Coy RG purchased in
the current CG Day's RePh may be exchanged for Commissars

12.5 For each Initial Scenario, the actual
Strength of each OB-given and purchased (RePh step 12.621) RG
must still be determined normally (RePh step 12.622) . Leaders
received, if any, are determined in RePh steps 12.6225-.6227 .
 
Last edited:

EagleIV

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
1,155
Reaction score
360
Location
California
Country
llUnited States
For the OB given RG you can't exchange the leaders for Commissars, but for the purchased RG (using the CPP you get) you might be able to exchange them for Commissars. See the note about not being able to make the exchange if you will end up with more than 1 Commissar per 12 squads. With all the NKVD Commissars you might not be able to make any exchanges.
 

Steve E7

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2007
Messages
612
Reaction score
223
Location
Wisconsin, USA
Country
llUnited States
Thank you for the reply. Am wondering for the OB given RG .. one can exchange them per the rules in A25.22?
 

Dmart

Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2005
Messages
38
Reaction score
4
Location
Fernandina Beach FL
Country
llUnited States
Has this apparent contradiction been addressed/resolved:

VotG1. EC are Dry, with no wind at start. Kindling is NA.
V4.1 ...Rail Car hexes may be Kindled.

Thank you.
 

Darren Kovacs

Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Messages
107
Reaction score
18
Location
Victoria BC
Country
llCanada
Has this apparent contradiction been addressed/resolved:

VotG1. EC are Dry, with no wind at start. Kindling is NA.
V4.1 ...Rail Car hexes may be Kindled.

Thank you.
I believe the intention is that you can't have units (MMC) do any kindling but that any burnable terrain can be "started on fire" or "kindled" via other destructive methods. Example: OBA, FT, etc.

Darren
 

Dmart

Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2005
Messages
38
Reaction score
4
Location
Fernandina Beach FL
Country
llUnited States
Thanks. While I understand that may have been the intent, Kindling is a very specific rulebook defined action (B25.11), different than spreading fire. Perhaps rail cars (hexes) should be more appropriately classified as "burnable terrain" (which they are not so indicated in the Index).
 

klasmalmstrom

Forum Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
18,301
Reaction score
5,132
Location
Sweden
Country
llSweden
Has this apparent contradiction been addressed/resolved:

VotG1. EC are Dry, with no wind at start. Kindling is NA.
V4.1 ...Rail Car hexes may be Kindled.
I don't think there's really a contradiction here. V4.1 is a terrain rule. SSR VotG1 is an SSR. Someone might design a scenario when SSR VotG1 is NA, but uses the Rail Car rules.
 
Top