Valor of the Guards Q&A

Stacks

Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2004
Messages
1,726
Reaction score
111
Country
llFinland
Would agree seems like the Russian should be - left in Control of two hexes - if you want to make it tougher for him to enter along the North edge,
since if the Russians only have one or no north edge hex in Control then they may enter along the 7 north edge-hexes.

see also rule V12.608 line 5...

[EXC: A Russian Perimeter Area that contains south map-edge hexes but no north map-edge hex(es) nor non-interdicted Ferry Landing(s) is considered Isolated.....


So south edge hexes can be isolated, not the north edge hexes.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Stacks

Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2004
Messages
1,726
Reaction score
111
Country
llFinland
The Red/Orange/Brown entry codes text read (three times):

may enter on any north-map-edge hexes that are currently friendly-Controlled and were friendly-Controlled at scenario start; if no such friendly-Controlled hexes exist, then they may enter anywhere along the north edge map on/east of hex U1.

The word hexes seems to mean more than one hex, otherwise
it should have been written hex(es) or hex instead, I think.

Could Tom Morin or anyone other involved answer if this is correct?
 

BruceC

Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
513
Reaction score
22
Location
Maine
Country
llUnited States
We're about to fire up CGI and I'm looking over the German RG chart.

When I go to purchase my rifle coys I notice there are 2 numbers in the CG max column for this RG. [ 3/1g ] I think that is a g but me eyes aren't what they once were. According to note g these are available 9/20.

Does this mean the CG max is 3 until 9/20? What is that 1 after the slash?

Thanks

Bruce
 

pward

Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2005
Messages
4,056
Reaction score
96
Location
Springfield, IL
Country
llUnited States
Bruce,

Three available from start, with an additional one made available on the 20th.

The actual reading of note g is: "Not available until September 20th."
 

pward

Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2005
Messages
4,056
Reaction score
96
Location
Springfield, IL
Country
llUnited States
The word hexes seems to mean more than one hex, otherwise
it should have been written hex(es) or hex instead, I think.

Could Tom Morin or anyone other involved answer if this is correct?
Uh oh, that could throw a monkey wrench into my plans for Z0...
 

Aavar

Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
166
Reaction score
18
Location
Toronto
Country
llCanada
A Question concerning VotG refit phase (playing CG I)

12.6124 Leader Battle Hardening

This concerns the modifier at the bottom of the table. Assume there was a German assualt on the current CG day and Russian counterattack. Lets say the German wins his assualt and the Russian wins his counterattack. Who gets the modifier? Seems like some clarification in the wording is needed here since there could be more than one scenario in a day.

Randy

Well there is a refit phase after each CG scenario(although some refit steps are left out during the refit before the russian night counter attack) so the German would get the -3 modifier for battle hardening for the refit phase after the 1st scenario and also the refit phase after the russian counter attack, so gets it for both scenarios and the russian would get the -3 modifier for battelehardening for the refit phase after the night counter attack scenario.

(ie if the german had won both scenarios, they would get a -3 mod after the 1st scenario and a -6 mod after the night counter attack.
 
Last edited:

pward

Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2005
Messages
4,056
Reaction score
96
Location
Springfield, IL
Country
llUnited States
The battle harden step is right before the counter attack declaration. It probably needs to be changed to "Friendly side won the scenario just completed..."
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2004
Messages
487
Reaction score
109
Location
Sydney, Australia
Country
llAustralia
Specialists House Questions

1. For the purposes of achieving their LOS for the interdiction VC does the German player trace the LOS to the east edge of the map area that is in play or to the physical edge of the map?

2. What effect does cowering have on a unit seeking to interdict the maqp edge?
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2003
Messages
205
Reaction score
9
Location
Toronto, Canada
Country
llUnited States
Use of Captured Flamethrowers/DC:

The Refit rules 12.6154 state that the original side Retains a FT/DC that is removed by an effects DR of <= 10.

Does this really apply to captured FT/DC???

This makes no sense as if the captured weapon is not kept at scenario end by a roll of 1-2, it goes away forever.

Why should the Original side get back their FT/DC if their enemy uses it try and blow them up and roll an 8-10 (when it is lost due to captured weapon penalty).
 

James Taylor

I love women with brains
Joined
Jun 28, 2005
Messages
6,486
Reaction score
374
Location
Michigan
Country
llUnited States
Use of Captured Flamethrowers/DC:

The Refit rules 12.6154 state that the original side Retains a FT/DC that is removed by an effects DR of <= 10.

Does this really apply to captured FT/DC???

This makes no sense as if the captured weapon is not kept at scenario end by a roll of 1-2, it goes away forever.

Why should the Original side get back their FT/DC if their enemy uses it try and blow them up and roll an 8-10 (when it is lost due to captured weapon penalty).
It is that way in RB as well. Probably just came over from there....

JT
 

Matt Book

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2004
Messages
1,775
Reaction score
233
Country
llUnited States
We are thinking about playing CGII in Votg, but are confused by the VC for the CG. Are these conditions right in that the German can win on any CG day if he can control/interdict any ferry landing, provided there is no single permiter loop composed of north/south map edge hexes while the Russian controls less or equal to 10 stone hexes OR the German wins on the last day if he has all stone hexes west of hexrow J? The last part seems odd considering the German only has to move and control those 9 hexrows over the course of 9 CG days given from the west side that he enters on, is that right? Thanks in advance
 

Stacks

Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2004
Messages
1,726
Reaction score
111
Country
llFinland
Use of Captured Flamethrowers/DC:

The Refit rules 12.6154 state that the original side Retains a FT/DC that is removed by an effects DR of <= 10.

Does this really apply to captured FT/DC???

This makes no sense as if the captured weapon is not kept at scenario end by a roll of 1-2, it goes away forever.

Why should the Original side get back their FT/DC if their enemy uses it try and blow them up and roll an 8-10 (when it is lost due to captured weapon penalty).
It is that way in RB as well. Probably just came over from there....

JT
Not identical to the Red Barricades, it has been changed.

Red Barricades O11.6134 FT/DC: Each FT/DC removed from play during the preceding scenario (regardless of why it was removed) is Retained by its original owning side only if the Original effects DR causing its removal and made by the original owner was <= 10; otherwise, it is eliminated....

VotG V12.6154 FT/DC: Each FT/DC removed from play during the preceding scenario (regardless of why it was removed) is Retained by its original owning side only if it was removed by an Original effects DR <= 10;otherwise, it is eliminated....

As an example - if a Russian 4-4-7 squad captures a German flamethrower and fires with it (breakdown X6) and roll a DR of 8 then the German player
would Retain the Flamethrower in VotG, but not in Red Barricades.
 

bo_siemsen

Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2004
Messages
338
Reaction score
98
Location
Copenhagen, Denmark
Country
llDenmark
I am playing VOTG CG1 as the Germans and came across an interesting situation/question.

The situation is this:
I took control of half the map - I control the nail-factory and the railway station and everything north of it. Except one Russian conscript Squad which was HIP and left behind enemy lines in a non-ground level pocket on level 1 in I33. I control the rest of the building.

preparing for the russian night-counterattack I have purchased 2 platoons in reserve …

The rules for setting up in reserves says I have to set up at least 6 hexes from an enemy frontline location. Now, does This non-ground level pocket actually count as an ”frontline location” ? I am not 100% sure it does.

The definition of a front line location as described in VOTG says ”Each Location that belongs to a hex grain of a perimiter marked in RePh 12.606.”

Reading through the 12.6067 regarding non-ground level pockets - ”such a pocket is not indicated by perimiter markers(s) as they are always placed on ground level …”

*******************************************

Basically my question/idea here is that I am actually allowed to set up my reserves closer than 6 hexes to this non-ground level pocket.

I discussed it with a fellow player who also reached that conclusion, but I am still not 100% sure it is accurate.

Help ?



Thanks
Bo Siemsen of Copenhagen
 

pward

Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2005
Messages
4,056
Reaction score
96
Location
Springfield, IL
Country
llUnited States
Bo:
Yes, the isolated unit forms it's own front line location, with it's own perimeter. Even though it's only one location.
 

Stacks

Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2004
Messages
1,726
Reaction score
111
Country
llFinland
Basically my question/idea here is that I am actually allowed to set up my reserves closer than 6 hexes to this non-ground level pocket?
That would led to Reserves being activated if set up with a LOS and within 3 hexes.

Here are some definitions/rules that might help:

A12.6066 Pockets:........All Pockets are Isolated Areas and part of the friendly Perimeter Area, even though physically separate from the main Perimeter Area.

A12.2 Definitions and Abbreviations:......Perimeter Area: All hexes enclosed by, and including, a side´s Front Line Locations (A12.606).
 

James Taylor

I love women with brains
Joined
Jun 28, 2005
Messages
6,486
Reaction score
374
Location
Michigan
Country
llUnited States
Not identical to the Red Barricades, it has been changed.

Red Barricades O11.6134 FT/DC: Each FT/DC removed from play during the preceding scenario (regardless of why it was removed) is Retained by its original owning side only if the Original effects DR causing its removal and made by the original owner was <= 10; otherwise, it is eliminated....

VotG V12.6154 FT/DC: Each FT/DC removed from play during the preceding scenario (regardless of why it was removed) is Retained by its original owning side only if it was removed by an Original effects DR <= 10;otherwise, it is eliminated....

As an example - if a Russian 4-4-7 squad captures a German flamethrower and fires with it (breakdown X6) and roll a DR of 8 then the German player
would Retain the Flamethrower in VotG, but not in Red Barricades.
You're right. We've just played RB wrong... as we played it the VotG way.

JT
 

Fort

Elder Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2005
Messages
5,610
Reaction score
902
Location
virginia
Country
llUnited States
If an OBA module is retained..and it has a Pre Reg hex...does the Pre Reg hex stay the same, or can it be recorded as a different hex in the next scenario?

If the OBA had an Offboard Observer, can you pass on it and take a radio/field phone second day?

Can you buy a pre reg or OBO for a retained OBA module that did not have one when originally purchased?

Thanks
 

Bret Hildebran

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2003
Messages
4,733
Reaction score
425
Location
NE OH
Country
llUnited States
If an OBA module is retained..and it has a Pre Reg hex...does the Pre Reg hex stay the same, or can it be recorded as a different hex in the next scenario?
This came up in another VotG thread - the conclusion was it can be changed for the next scenario. Basically it's part of the ASOP pre-game setup for the next scenario to write down the Pre Reg hex.

If the OBA had an Offboard Observer, can you pass on it and take a radio/field phone second day?
Hmmm...Not sure. I know you can switch radio/phone so I'm not sure why you couldn't switch offboard observer to radio/phone if you wanted for LOS reasons, but I don't think it's explicitly covered one way or the other.

Can you buy a pre reg or OBO for a retained OBA module that did not have one when originally purchased?
This was also in the other thread and the conclusion was no - it's part of the purchase of the OBA module and there's no provision to buy it as a seperate transaction later on.
 

Tater

Elder Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2003
Messages
9,662
Reaction score
536
Location
Ardmore, TN
Country
llUnited States
This was also in the other thread and the conclusion was no - it's part of the purchase of the OBA module and there's no provision to buy it as a seperate transaction later on.
The OBO is a separate purchase. Thus, it could be purchased for an existing OBA.
 

Fort

Elder Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2005
Messages
5,610
Reaction score
902
Location
virginia
Country
llUnited States
Thanks.

I leaned towards the answers given by Brett, except the OBO, where I'm inclined to go with Tater.
 
Top