Unarmed MMC

Doug Leslie

Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2017
Messages
74
Reaction score
19
Country
ll
Rule A20.4 states

"Only SS, Japanese, Partisan, Russian, or berserk Infantry/Cavalry-if not in melee-may eliminate an unarmed unit in their location not in the act of escape. They do so in their fire phase as if using a SW by declaring that unit as their target, which automatically eliminates them"

Rule 20.54 states

"Unarmed units are not an obstacle to movement, and can be recaptured normally by CC or by any infantry/cavalry unit entering their location and engaging in an immediate CC attack during the MPh. If they fail to eliminate or recapture those unarmed units during the MPh, they area considered in melee thereafter and may move no further".

An unarmed British unit has been abandoned by its German captors. A German 4-6-7 then enters its location during the MPh.

  1. Is the German unit obliged to engage in CC or can it simply keep moving? If it were SS, could it just stop in the location with a view to killing the unarmed unit in the AFPh instead of risking CC?
  2. Does the German unit have the option of trying to kill the unarmed unit in CC as opposed to capturing it? Clearly the wording of A20.54 envisages the possibility of the unarmed unit being eliminated but it isn't clear whether that is an option open to all attackers given the terms of A20.4. I am assuming that it could go for the kill if it were an SS unit instead of a 1st liner.
  3. Is the unarmed unit allowed to fight back, whichever option is chosen by the German unit?
  4. If an unarmed unit is killed in CC (whether during the MPh or in regular non-melee CC), does this invoke massacre penalties? Note that A20.4 only talks about a massacre occurring during a friendly fire phase as opposed to MPh/CC.
 

klasmalmstrom

Forum Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
16,809
Reaction score
3,254
Location
Sweden
Country
llSweden
An unarmed British unit has been abandoned by its German captors. A German 4-6-7 then enters its location during the MPh.

1. Is the German unit obliged to engage in CC or can it simply keep moving? If it were SS, could it just stop in the location with a view to killing the unarmed unit in the AFPh instead of risking CC?
It can keep on moving. Any unit - not just SS - can stop in the Location and fire at the abandoned prisoners in the AFPh.


2. Does the German unit have the option of trying to kill the unarmed unit in CC as opposed to capturing it? Clearly the wording of A20.54 envisages the possibility of the unarmed unit being eliminated but it isn't clear whether that is an option open to all attackers given the terms of A20.4. I am assuming that it could go for the kill if it were an SS unit instead of a 1st liner.
I think you can only try and capture in during the MPh. NRNH, so I can't check the exact wording of the rules.

EDIT - checked A20.54:
"...Unarmed units are not an obstacle to movement, and can be recaptured normally by CC or by any Infantry/Cavalry unit entering their Location and engaging in an immediate CC attack during the MPh. If they fail to eliminate or recapture those unarmed units during the MPh, they are considered in Melee thereafter and may move no farther. .."

So it seems one can engage them to eliminate them during the MPh as well - but it so, that will trigger the Massacre rule, A20.53:
"Abandoned prisoners are still subject to the protection of 20.3-.4 (i.e., an abandoned prisoner subsequently eliminated by the side that abandoned it causes the Massacre rule to take immediate effect). "


3. Is the unarmed unit allowed to fight back, whichever option is chosen by the German unit?
Yes.

4. If an unarmed unit is killed in CC (whether during the MPh or in regular non-melee CC), does this invoke massacre penalties? Note that A20.4 only talks about a massacre occurring during a friendly fire phase as opposed to MPh/CC.
Yes. There is a rule that says abandoned prisoners are protected by A20.4.
 
Last edited:

Doug Leslie

Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2017
Messages
74
Reaction score
19
Country
ll
It can keep on moving. Any unit - not just SS - can stop in the Location and fire at the abandoned prisoners in the AFPh.



I think you can only try and capture in during the MPh. NRNH, so I can't check the exact wording of the rules.


Yes.


Yes. There is a rule that says abandoned prisoners are protected by A20.4.
1. Does your answer not conflict with the terms of A20.4 which stipulates that only SS etc can eliminate an unarmed unit in their location that isn't trying to escape?

2. See above

3. Do you have a rule citation for this? A11.1 says "CC is a form of attack which can occur only during the CCPh [EXC: vs unarmed units (20.54)... " If unarmed units are allowed to fight back during the MPh, would the rule not say "by/vs unarmed units"?

4. Agreed
 
Last edited:

Eagle4ty

Forum Guru
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
4,451
Reaction score
2,009
Location
Eau Claire, Wi
Country
llUnited States
....

3. Do you have a rule citation for this? A11.1 says "CC is a form of attack which can occur only during the CCPh [EXC: vs unarmed units (20.54)... " If unarmed units are allowed to fight back during the MPh, would the rule not say "by/vs unarmed units"?

...
A11.1 ...Units in different terrain features of the same Location (such as foxholes) still engage in CC with each other. There are no TEM or LOS Hindrance modifications to a CC attack DR, nor does PBF/TPBF ever apply to CC. Unlike Fire attacks, CC is usually simultaneous, so both sides attack the other even if one or both is thereby eliminated.
 
Top