Total newbie wants teaching!

Tigermuppetcut

Recruit
Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
Hi, I've read so many wonderful things about this game from enthusiastic players on site like boardgamegeek etc. that I really want to try it. However a recurring theme in those discussions is that it is a game that needs to be taught to you rather than you going off and trying to learn it all by yourself.

I don't want to go off and buy it before I know if I'll like it and I thought VASL might be the answer but that says you need the game anyway to play it. Is there any way I could be taught the game over VASL (unless there are any players in England on this board?)

Commissar Piotr

War Pig
Reaction score
Country
llSweden
You should definitely try to find someone in your area that can teach you the basics a least before trying to learn it on VASL.
It is a lot of rules and they just do not lend themselves to be taught in VASL.
Check out this site for players in England:

http://www.vftt.co.uk/

Aries

Reaction score
Country
llCanada
Reading examples of play might give you the closest insight to the game short of having it taught to you.

Here is a good source.

http://www.mindspring.com/~tqr/

Warning, this won't be something you read in 5 minutes, so wait till you actually want to sit down and examine it.

Consider it like having a game professor giving you a decent seminar :)

Regardless of your interest though, one thing is inescapable. The game is not inexpensive. And no amount of positivity from the gang is going to alter that.

You can't play without the rules chaa ching money spent.
And you need at least a module like Beyond Valour chaaa ching money spent.
So unless you can generate a serious purchase option (assuming you are not able to get a deal on eBay etc), the game will elude you.
This won't be like a computer game purchase where you spend 40-50 bucks and it's over.

Aries

Reaction score
Country
llCanada