The Warsaw Uprising 1944?

Koichi

Recruit
Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
Hey guys, I just finished Norman Davies' book on the warsaw Uprising and I was wondering, how come no one ever made a scenario for this momentuous battle? (Yes I have looked) I noticed players designed such a scenario for some of the other wargames but not East Front II. There's already a Polish faction, people just have to make a OOB for the Home Army which might include partisan units right? (I dunno, I'm not an expert on these things). I'm just very curious why it hasn't been done.

John Given

Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
I realize this is an old post, but I'll chime in.

My guess is because of the "sensitive" nature of the fight - I have noticed that any situation involving the deaths of many jews has been left out of the campaign series. As I'm sure you know - the battle was a slaughter, with the Russians waiting some miles away. The theory is that Stalin knew there were many jews in the warsaw ghettos, and deliberately gave the germans time to finish them off. Although the jewish and polish residents fought as best they could, in the end they were completely wiped out - the few survivors sent off to concentration camps.

I once considered creating a smallish scenario called "Escape from Sobibor" which is based on a movie, which was in turn, based on a real life event - of a bunch of concentration camp victims (a few thousand!) who successfully broke out of the camp and killed alot of germans. It would make a great scenario, but I didn't want to dredge that kind of stuff into the game, even though it happened in real life. It's also kind of hard for me to read how other folks would react to it - what if the scen accidentally leaned in favor of the german? I think you can see what I mean. Go rent the movie and I'm certain you'll enjoy it - but I'm not going to create a scen based on it, for the same reason the "Warsaw Uprising" should probably be left to the historians.