The Advance Phase and Wading

chavez

Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
61
Reaction score
0
Location
Australia
Country
llAustralia
Can Infantry advance while wading in shallow ocean in the Advance Phase?
 

Binchois

Too many words...
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2016
Messages
1,468
Reaction score
529
Location
Michigan
First name
Lester
Country
llUnited States
Yes:

G13.42 ...A Wading unit is treated as being in a shallow stream (but not in/IN a Depression) except as stated otherwise below.​

A unit in a shallow stream expends only 3MF per hex, so advance is generally allowed - though possibly made "Difficult" (A4.72) due to encumbrance or other factors.

Note Chapter G, note 30 which states that the wading rules were designed to avoid the penalties and dangers of fording. Among those, B21.41: "A Water Obstacle cannot be entered (via fording) during the APh, but can be left in the APh."
 

Juan SantaX

Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2019
Messages
156
Reaction score
50
Location
Sevilla
Country
llSpain
Yes:

G13.42 ...A Wading unit is treated as being in a shallow stream (but not in/IN a Depression) except as stated otherwise below.​

A unit in a shallow stream expends only 3MF per hex, so advance is generally allowed - though possibly made "Difficult" (A4.72) due to encumbrance or other factors.

Note Chapter G, note 30 which states that the wading rules were designed to avoid the penalties and dangers of fording. Among those, B21.41: "A Water Obstacle cannot be entered (via fording) during the APh, but can be left in the APh."
Another question related...

Do you lose concelament if you make a dificult move with a leader and a squad (no sw) in the advance phase in sight of a good order enemy?

Thanks in advance!
 

Binchois

Too many words...
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2016
Messages
1,468
Reaction score
529
Location
Michigan
First name
Lester
Country
llUnited States
Another question related...

Do you lose concelament if you make a dificult move with a leader and a squad (no sw) in the advance phase in sight of a good order enemy?

Thanks in advance!
Only if into OG. The Concealment table is pretty much always the final arbiter in matters of concealment loss/gain. Neither advancing nor becoming CX is, in and of itself, a concealment loss action.
 

Juan SantaX

Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2019
Messages
156
Reaction score
50
Location
Sevilla
Country
llSpain
Thx a lot.

Neither then if it was just a squad (4mf). It was an advance to level 1 hill/wood. In the movement phase you will lose it, but not in the advance phase.
 
Top