TCA change and bailing out

Joined
Mar 21, 2015
Messages
689
Reaction score
25
Location
Oz
Country
llAustralia
How does this work.

In the PFPh an AFV with a MMC as a rider changes its TCA. The MMC passes the bailing out DR and is put below the AFV.

However as this is not the movement phase, can the defender take any action.
 

Eagle4ty

Elder Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
4,398
Reaction score
1,954
Location
Eau Claire, Wi
Country
llUnited States
How does this work.

In the PFPh an AFV with a MMC as a rider changes its TCA. The MMC passes the bailing out DR and is put below the AFV.

However as this is not the movement phase, can the defender take any action.
That's not what the rule states (D6.21). It is ANY TIME the AFV changes it's TCA that rides must bail out. ASL is a detail oriented game where the rules as written specify what actions have consequences.
 

Carln0130

Elder Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2006
Messages
5,089
Reaction score
1,173
Location
MA
Country
llUnited States
That's not what the rule states (D6.21). It is ANY TIME the AFV changes it's TCA that rides must bail out. ASL is a detail oriented game where the rules as written specify what actions have consequences.
I don't think he means to suggest it can only happen in Prep Fire, he was just using Prep Fire because he wanted to know if the riders could get shot up while bailing out by the Defender. As Klas said, no they can't.

You are of course correct. Any time the TCA changes, off you get. Riding through Orchards is not very popular either :).
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2015
Messages
689
Reaction score
25
Location
Oz
Country
llAustralia
well it is kind of a freebie for elite units, imagine the concentration one could pull behind a forest for example.

" Dang, where did all they come from?" " Help"
 

klasmalmstrom

Forum Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
16,709
Reaction score
3,160
Location
Sweden
Country
llSweden
well it is kind of a freebie for elite units, imagine the concentration one could pull behind a forest for example.
Also a kind of gamble, since you are giving the opponent a "free" NMC on those units, and note that they won't be able to do much in the turn they are "swept off" - since they will be marked either "Prep" or "Final".

D6.24:
"Any Rider which Bails Out must take a NMC, be placed beneath the AFV in the AFV’s current Location, is unable to move or fire further during that phase, and if unbroken is marked with either a Prep Fire or Final Fire counter as appropriate."

They would be able to advance though.

As so often the case in ASL as risk vs reward situation/decision.
 

Russ Isaia

Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2015
Messages
442
Reaction score
77
Country
llUnited States
well it is kind of a freebie for elite units, imagine the concentration one could pull behind a forest for example.

" Dang, where did all they come from?" " Help"
Think creatively. You can Bail Out into an enemy-occupied Location (even from a vehicle Bypassing that Location). D6.24.

The Infantry equivalent of a Thrown DC. Except of course that if there is enough enemy FP in the Location, it may only be the Infantry and not also the enemy who explode.
 

Philippe D.

Elder Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2016
Messages
1,552
Reaction score
696
Location
Bordeaux
Country
llFrance
Not sure I'd see this as a freebie, even for Elite. Morale 8 units have more than 1 chance in 4 of breaking, which will often happen in a bad place. Bailing Out in an enemy-occupied hex will normally result in a freeze without the AFV having to remain in the hex, so it's a bit more likely to be worth the risk; but how often will the enemy let you drive Riders into their own hex? (TPBF on entry, possibly followed by a Bailing Out MC)
 
Top