Tatsinskaya Raid - from singleman publishing

bo_siemsen

Reaction score
Country
llDenmark
I found the link to this mini-campaign thingy "Tatsinskaya Raid" using a link I found on these boards. So, I started playing this Platoon Leader mini-campaign last night with a friend. Never in my 3 years of ASL have I seen such incompetence, lack of courage, malfunctions and other entertaining stuff in such a short time.

Basically, this is a mini-campaign taking place in December 42 during the Russian offensive that encircled Stalingrad. The Russian have captured a railway station and an airport the Germans wanted to use in the re-supply attempt of Stalingrad. Now the Germans want to recapture them. It’s winter – and the Russians are starting to run out of both ammo and gas for the tanks.

I set up as the Russians. I have 6 dug in tanks and about 14 squads on board with reinforcements coming in too.

Anyway, short on onboard leaders I deploy one back at the railway station on lvl 2 where he can see most of the battlefield. he’s my OBA observer. I decide not to fight too intensely over the airfield. I deploy a platoon or so up there – just to slow the germans down a bit. The dug-in tanks (T-34’s and T-70’s) were spread out across the board designed to be annoying stumpling blocks for the Germans preventing them from advancing too quickly across open ground.

Anyway