Tacticians or Lawyers?

Where lies the 'edge' in the game of ASL?

• The rules

Votes: 54 36.0%
  • Tactics

Votes: 96 64.0%

• Total voters

Legion

Reaction score
Country
llAustralia
I am interested to know what people consider to be the most important part of an ASL game...

I ask this as i have been playing for many years with very few FTF partners, and it was not until i started playing VASL within the last 3 years that i have had a chance to see how poor my understanding of even some basic rules has been...

Yet i also see that that some players place more emphasis on the rules that the tactics of the game...

So no middle ground here, which is more important?

For me i said the Tactics... as i play mainly HASL's and a long drawn out game will quickly have the balance turned by even a small edge in tactical understanding

Last edited:

Reepicheep

Reaction score
Country
llAustralia
I've voted for tactics as well... although bearing in mind that to execute good tactics, a good knowledge of the rules is essential. In that regard, I think tactical ability and knowledge of tactics that work (using the rules) do really go hand in hand.

WaterRabbit

Reaction score
Country
llGreenland
They are equally important -- i.e. the tactics of ASL. If someone does not know the rules and is playing a person that knows the rules well, they will loose. The rules dictate much of the tactics. Skulking is a perfect example of this. If you applied real world tactics it would be silly to move in and out of a defensive position.

Another example of this, I played Totsugeki! with Rob Wolkey at Enfilade one year. He pulled the whole Banzi/create DC hero tactic on me. Now, while I had read the rules on this, it hadn't occured to me that one could do this. Needless to say, I lost. But someone had to have read the rules and then created the tactic -- a game tactic.