Someone wants West of Alamein badly

Bruce Childs

Reaction score
182.50 !

WOWSERS-

It seems a very expensive hobby for some. I hope he has plenty of opponents handy.... :oops:

FuraxVZ

Recruit
Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
I'd like to point out to the folks MMP what people would pay for these games.

Since I'm a newb, I get nervous thinking I'll never be able to play in North Africa or with any British troops. Hell, I consider myself lucky I got my hands on a new 2nd RuleBook AND 2nd Beyond Valor. At least I have Germans and Russians. :p

I don't know what it costs to produce WoA, but $180 should cover it. :lol:

Anonymous

Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
Actually, that was me

I bid that silly amount for West of Alamein. Three of the last 4 on auction before that one went for $150 or more, the only one that was less had a buy it now of $55(!), but didn't last long at all.

It was the only major module (as in, module that was required for a bunch of other modules) I needed, and I just sick of looking everywhere and when they finally show up on auction, lose every one because they went so high.

Here is the "Completed auctions" search for West of Alamein (and includes an auction for just an issue of the 'General' that features it):

http://search-completed.ebay.com/search/search.dll?GetResult&query="west+of+alamein"&srchdesc=y&from=R10&ht=1&currdisp=2&itemtimedisp=0&combine=y&st=2&SortProperty=MetaNewSort

Even though I no longer need them (as I finally bought them), I do think it'd be helpful to the hobby and for future ASL sales if they at least kept the core modules in print. Beyond Valor being required for everything and out of print ebay fodder is the worst offense, the rulebooks aren't too far gone or expensive yet.

West of Alamein is by far the most I had to pay for any ASL product; most of them I got at retail, except for the annuals and Streets of Fire.