Some Basic VPO Questions

GerryM

Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2004
Messages
238
Reaction score
5
Location
Colorado
Country
llUnited States
Hello: I rolled drs for Bd 17 and one VPO came up as P2-P4.
  1. Does that mean P2 and P4 or P2, P3, and P4. I assume the former.
  2. P4 is part of a 2-hex building (P4 and Q4) so I assume both hexes have to be controlled?
Thanks.
Gerry
 

Ahriman667

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Messages
360
Reaction score
243
Location
Here
Country
llCanada
S14.31 TWIN VPO: Some VPO results list two distinct hexes as part of
that VPO in the form hex-hex.
EX: The determined VPO for board 2 is “V8-W7”. Both hexes must be FRIENDLY
Controlled at Mission end in order for the player to receive their VP award.
Despite that each hex contains a different building, only one VP value dr is made
{A10b}, as both comprise but one VPO (14.4).

Is your Answer I believe.
 

GerryM

Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2004
Messages
238
Reaction score
5
Location
Colorado
Country
llUnited States
That's what I was thinking. So P2 and P4. Now as P4 is part of the P4-Q4 building I assume both hexes in the building needed to be controlled, not just P4?
 

ScottRomanowski

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2010
Messages
422
Reaction score
553
Location
Massachusetts
Country
llUnited States
I think all Locations in the P4 building must be controlled for you to get the VPs, S14.32.
You'd gain control of either hex by just controlling the ground level (A26.13), but S4.32 says "all non-Rooftop/non-Sewer Locations".
 

GerryM

Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2004
Messages
238
Reaction score
5
Location
Colorado
Country
llUnited States
Thank you. So the latter seems to say you have to step through those up-stair locations to control them, right?
 

Gordon

Elder Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2017
Messages
1,681
Reaction score
1,826
Country
llUnited States
Or Search/Mop up? Even though technically there's nothing else to find if you've eliminated all the ? counters and ENEMY units.
 

ScottRomanowski

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2010
Messages
422
Reaction score
553
Location
Massachusetts
Country
llUnited States
Yes to both @GerryM and @Gordon. If you Mop Up you will gain control of the building, all its hexes, and all its Locations. Otherwise you will have to move through all the Locations, upstairs and down. The A26.15 example nicely shows building, hex, and Location control.
 

GerryM

Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2004
Messages
238
Reaction score
5
Location
Colorado
Country
llUnited States
Thanks, I assume a Suspect counter cannot be considered Good Order. (If they were, they would be the last to occupy a Level 1 location for example and then you would have to gain control of it.)
 

tommyl

Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2003
Messages
287
Reaction score
70
Location
Camillus, NY
Country
llIreland
Be sure to read S15.9. If you mop up a building you could activate a HIP Enemy. Chances are reduced the more locations you enter before declaring Mopping Up.
 

GerryM

Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2004
Messages
238
Reaction score
5
Location
Colorado
Country
llUnited States
Thanks Scott. Sorry for the basic questions but there is a lot to take in.
 
Top