So I bought Campaign 1776

Leftie

Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
I am sure most of you have already played it but I thought you might like a total newbies first impression of the game.

Initial Impressions-Well when I first saw the cd case there in the PX I was pretty excited. The Artwork isnt too bad but the case was stuck in the back of the store with all the bargain bin stuff.

Installation-Everything went very smoothly till I got to the end. There were two errors but I haven't noticed any problems with the game thus far

First Game-So I booted the game up and checked out the manual. I saw there was a "Getting Started" section and clicked on that. It walked me through my first few turns without any confusion what so ever. Before I knew it I was kicking some british butt.

Overall-I have to be honest and say that I went into this telling myself that graphics didn't matter and the gameplay was where everything was at. But I was still a little disappointed when I first started playing. The more I played though the more I started to get into it. In all reality I just had to give the game a chance and it definitely started to grow on me.

I played through the first scenario in the game(the name slips me) But I really started to get a feel for the flow and ebb of things. I was chasing down some of the brits and they managed to cross a bridge. They kept 3 Regiments of troops there to delay my crossing. The funniest thing though, is that they only left one within firing range of my troops. So we swapped volleys for a couple of turns and then I decided to try to cross.

Well wouldn't you know that as soon as I started moving my troops over the bridge, The Brits starts tearing them up with some pretty concentrated fire.

I finally managed to get everyone across and in position and tore them up pretty good.

It was a pretty exhilirating time though.

2 Thumbs up great game! I will buy more.

Ben

Leftie

Reaction score
Country
llUnited States