"Side X sets up as if Side Y enter from offboard" and Bore Sighting

Discussion in 'ASL Rules & Errata' started by Philippe D., Jan 13, 2018 at 6:03 PM.

  1. Philippe D.

    Philippe D. Active Member

    964
    Jul 1, 2016
    Bordeaux
    Say a SSR specifies that one side sets up as if the opponent entered from offboard (example I have in mind: BtB3 Kraut Corner).

    Does it make this side the Scenario Defender, and allow Bore Sighting? Or does it just allow additional concealment prior to the other player doing his setup?
     
  2. Swiftandsure

    Swiftandsure Robin Reeve Silver Supporting Member

    Jul 26, 2003
    St-L├ęgier
    I would apply all advantages for having an opponent setting up offboard - unless the SSR is more specific.
    What would be the reason to select one and not the other?
     
  3. klasmalmstrom

    klasmalmstrom Well-Known Member

    Feb 26, 2003
    Sweden
    The version of this scenario that I have has SSR 1 saying:
    "1. The Germans setup per A12.12. as if the Americans are entering from offboard."

    Since there is a specific rules-reference to A12.12 I would probably play as if the SSR only applies to setting up concealed.
     
  4. buser333

    buser333 Active Member

    455
    Jun 24, 2013
    central WI
    The BFP re-release of this says simply:
    "The Germans setup as if the Americans enter from offboard."

    So, if playing that version anyway, I would say all actions allowed by offboard entry would be allowed the defender.
     
  5. klasmalmstrom

    klasmalmstrom Well-Known Member

    Feb 26, 2003
    Sweden
    It probably would have been much better/clearer to just spell out that the German can set up concealed (and may use bore sighting - if indeed that is the intent [does not seem like it was in the original version though]). :)
     

Share This Page