Sewer Questions

Bocko

Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2003
Messages
41
Reaction score
0
Location
Dayton Ohio
Country
llUnited States
How can CloseCombat occur IN the sewer?

AND

How can one use a Democharge IN the sewer? Reason for this question is to prevent movement in the sewer not just the manhole cover.

Thanks
Chris
 

AdrianE

Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2003
Messages
791
Reaction score
78
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
Country
llCanada
I don't believe CC can occur in a sewer. A sewer unit's only advance phase option is to emerge or not. Therefore it can't enter into another sewer location, so it can't enter CC in a sewer. Also entering a sewer from a manhole location is a MPh activity, so no unit can enter a sewer location in the APh. So no CC in a sewer.

The only way a demolition charge can be used in a sewer is if a unit in a manhole location throws it at a discovered sewer unit. The unit in the sewer would take a 30-2 and the thrower would take a 30+3+tem.

Adrian
 

Alan P.

Recruit
Joined
Jan 30, 2003
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Location
Seattle, Wa.
Country
llUnited States
Did B8.44 change with the ASLRBv2? There are a few Adjacent manhole locations--remember >2 road hex-sides=manhole--and 1st. ed. B8.44 explains APh sewer possibilities. If you Advance into sewer CC, it's regular CC/Melee from that point.

Alan
 

da priest

Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2003
Messages
2,783
Reaction score
10
Location
Lebanon, Mo., turn r
ASLRBv2:

8.44 APh/CCPh: Opposing units in the sewer system may not enter an enemy occupied Sewer Location during the MPh, and may end their respective MPh ADJACENT only if they are both beneath Manhole Locations in adjacent hexes. Should this situation occur, fire attacks between the ADJACENT units are allowed as normal during the DFPh and AFPh, and the APh can be used by the ATTACKER to move either to the Manhole Location above it (if allowed by the Sewer Emergence dr) or to enter into CC with the adjacent sewer unit(s). Since units in a sewer are always concealed (8.41) they are never locked in Melee, and during the next MPh the ATTACKER must move to a new Sewer Location.
 

Bocko

Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2003
Messages
41
Reaction score
0
Location
Dayton Ohio
Country
llUnited States
Ok, so the ATTACKER (in the Sewer) can Advance into an adjacent Hex (in the Sewer) only to engage in Closecombat. Can the ATTACKER only advance if he rolls 4 or less (plus modifiers) since this is required to exit the sewer?
 

Alan P.

Recruit
Joined
Jan 30, 2003
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Location
Seattle, Wa.
Country
llUnited States
Thanks, Ron, for the full quote; the last sentence is new--I was wondering about the '?'-aspect of both stacks in CC.

The rule states you may advance to ML(if emergence dr allows) or Adjacent sewer unit. Doesn't mention the need of a dr to Advance, so no dr is needed to Advance.

Alan
 
Top