SAMS are a JOKE

Ike

Recruit
Reaction score
Country
ll
Now im no missile expert but my understanding of an SA-10 is, its a pretty good surface to air missile.

I've been looking at some modern scenarios lately and noticed that SAMS seem not to work.

I set up a little test and had 12 B-52's bomb an airfield defended by 10 SA-10s. No B-52 shots down.

Bueno, I set up 500 SA-10s defending an airfield and had 12
F-15s attack. No F-15s shot down.

I know COW doesnt model air combat so great but this is ridiculous. :blab:

Can anyone else confirm this?

nemo

-. . -- ---
Reaction score
Country
llFrance
Short answer: SAMs don't work - check this thread for confirmation. I think there are also several other older threads dedicated to this topic and the conclusions if I remember correctly are always the same.

If you need the SAMs to work for a modern scenario you're making, the only practical solution so far is to use BioEd.

JMS

Reaction score
Country
llSpain
Ike said:
Now im no missile expert but my understanding of an SA-10 is, its a pretty good surface to air missile.

I've been looking at some modern scenarios lately and noticed that SAMS seem not to work.

I set up a little test and had 12 B-52's bomb an airfield defended by 10 SA-10s. No B-52 shots down.

Bueno, I set up 500 SA-10s defending an airfield and had 12
F-15s attack. No F-15s shot down.

I know COW doesnt model air combat so great but this is ridiculous. :blab:

Can anyone else confirm this?
Nemo is right. The problem is that the AA values in the database are way too low (in fact, the same as a heavy MG) so you need to BioEdit the .exe to increase the AA ratings until you get the attrition you deem correct. Unfortunately, there is no historical reference for good values, with losses to SAMs rating to below 2% to 75% depending on the system, EW systems, etc.

Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
If You're going to edit the eqipment database ............