Rubble depiction in buildinghexes

Joined
Jun 2, 2003
Messages
512
Likes
17
Points
18
Location
Malmö
Country
llSweden
#1
Hi

Consider this picture. If LOS solely crosses the corner of building with a rubble depiction (R63) on what level is LOS blocked?
 

Attachments

CTKnudsen

Active Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2015
Messages
319
Likes
131
Points
43
Location
Oromocto, NB
Country
llCanada
#2
O3.1 (and I know this isn't RB, but still), states that rubble outside the printed rubble depiction doesn't count. So given that, the question is does the building exist on either side of the LOS line? Hard to tell from your pic. I would be inclined to call that a full blockage, i.e. that the building depiction exists under that extra bit of rubble depiction. But I'm sure someone would argue just as effectively against, and were I at the table, I could probably be swayed.
 

Paul M. Weir

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2004
Messages
8,809
Likes
2,522
Points
163
Location
Dublin
Country
llIreland
#5
The LOS touches the building outer black line. There is a tiny, tiny bit of black to the RHS of the red line just below the "3". No more than a handful of pixels, to be sure, but still there. The rubble only starts inside the lower loop of the "3".
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2003
Messages
512
Likes
17
Points
18
Location
Malmö
Country
llSweden
#6
Thansk, agree.

The question now is whether the rubble actually exist in that corner.
 

Swiftandsure

Robin Reeve
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
16,181
Likes
1,569
Points
163
Location
St-Légier
Country
llSwitzerland
#7
Well, the straight line of the building's wall goes up to the R62-R63 hexside.
I wouldn't consider it as rubble.
 

CTKnudsen

Active Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2015
Messages
319
Likes
131
Points
43
Location
Oromocto, NB
Country
llCanada
#9
The rubble crosses the hexsides for movement purposes. For bypass of that hexsides, you would pay rubble cost not building costs.
That is true, but you wouldn't be able to bypass R63 along the R62 hexside anyways. With this closer view, I would definitely say that the building depiction goes right to the hexside, any rubble outside R62 is (for this purpose) is a small portion extending across the hexside into an adjacent non-rubble location, and is ignored per O3.1. No LOS.
 
Last edited:

CTKnudsen

Active Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2015
Messages
319
Likes
131
Points
43
Location
Oromocto, NB
Country
llCanada
#12
If you are talking about the rubble strand in R63, then level 1.5, same as the building. If you are talking R62, then it's a 1/2 level LOS obstacle. Remember, rubble depicted outside the rubble hex has no effect whatsoever in the rules.
 

Eagle4ty

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
3,143
Likes
948
Points
113
Location
Eau Claire, Wi
Country
llUnited States
#13
To continue, if you are talking about the small part of the building depiction in the rubble hex, that is ignored as rubble exist throughout the entire hex and is a 1/2 level obstruction to LOS as CTKnudsen intimated.
 
Top