RPT25 Cornwall's Rum Ration VC

nebel

Share and Enjoy
Joined
Apr 15, 2007
Messages
697
Reaction score
148
Location
Sector ZZ Alpha
Country
llAustralia
Ok I am reading these VC and it is confusing. I assume normal rules apply but the way this is worded hints that the designer wants a different approach... What is the interpretation of the VC which say:

"The British win at game end if they control >=5 stone building hexes on/between U and Y with a (non-vehicular crew counter) MMC."

I read that as normal HEX control applies other than vehicles or their crews cannot take control (but they could deny control like an SMC)... Is that a correct interpretation?

Since the buildings in the VC are in the British setup area I assume that means they start the game under British control. Is that a correct assumption?

If a stone building hex is rubbled does that still count for VC? I assume not - that it is no longer a building HEX. Is that correct?

thanks,
Nathan
 
Last edited:

Eagle4ty

Forum Guru
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
5,266
Reaction score
2,995
Location
Eau Claire, Wi
Country
llUnited States
Ok I am reading these VC and it is confusing. I assume normal rules apply but the way this is worded hints that the designer wants a different approach... What is the interpretation of the VC which say:

"The British win at game end if they control >=5 stone building hexes on/between U and Y with a (non-vehicular crew counter) MMC."

I read that as normal HEX control applies other than vehicles or their crews cannot take control (but they could deny control like an SMC)... Is that a correct interpretation?

Since the buildings in the VC are in the British setup area I assume that means they start the game under British control. Is that a correct assumption?

If a stone building hex is rubbled does that still count for VC? I assume not - that it is no longer a building HEX. Is that correct?

thanks,
Nathan
From the way the VC is stated adding the word "with" to it, I would assume you (as the British) must physically occupy and control said buildings with a non-vehicular crew MMC. Your other assertions seem correct to me.
 

Robin Reeve

φιλέω ASL אני אוהב
Staff member
Moderator
Gold Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
17,632
Reaction score
3,000
Location
St-Légier
First name
Robin
Country
llSwitzerland
I read that as normal HEX control applies other than vehicles or their crews cannot take control (but they could deny control like an SMC)... Is that a correct interpretation?
I would read it that way.
The VC seems to want to avoid vehicular crews which have abandoned their vehicles to gain control of the building hexes.
Since the buildings in the VC are in the British setup area I assume that means they start the game under British control. Is that a correct assumption?
Yes:
A26.11 GAINING CONTROL: At scenario start a side gains Control of all Locations/hexes/buildings within its set-up area [EXC: if within both sides' set-up areas], as well as all Locations/hexes/buildings on a board if that side is the only side which may set up on that board at scenario start.
If a stone building hex is rubbled does that still count for VC? I assume not - that it is no longer a building HEX. Is that correct
Yes:
B24.1 ... A rubbled Location is no longer a building Location and a building totally reduced to rubble is no longer considered a building [EXC: for Rubble Clearance purposes; 24.71]
I hope I helped.
 

nebel

Share and Enjoy
Joined
Apr 15, 2007
Messages
697
Reaction score
148
Location
Sector ZZ Alpha
Country
llAustralia
Initially, I wondered about this as well but there are many easier and cleaner ways to say that physical presence is necessary...
Doing a search the only info I could find were mentions of confusion but no indication of a correct answer.
 

Robin Reeve

φιλέω ASL אני אוהב
Staff member
Moderator
Gold Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
17,632
Reaction score
3,000
Location
St-Légier
First name
Robin
Country
llSwitzerland
"Vehicular Crews are considered SMC for control purposes" would indeed be more clear - I seem to recall having seen such a wording in a VC text.
 
Top