Rowhouse Control - lost by Infiltration?

Tuomo

Keeper of the Funk
Joined
Feb 10, 2003
Messages
4,703
Reaction score
5,743
Location
Rock Bottom
Country
llUnited States
A German squad is alone in a 2-hex rowhouse and thus Controls the building. Two Russian squads move in to the other hex of the rowhouse and advance in to the German squad's hex for CC.

If the German squad ambushes the Russians and withdraws from the ambush into the rowhouse hex the Russians just came from, does it lose control of the building during the moment it is in rowhouse Bypass between the two hexes?
 

Stewart

Elder Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2006
Messages
3,460
Reaction score
654
Location
Russia
Country
llRussia
Since you are moving from One location to another location in the same building....no loss of control should occur.
This is akin to moving between building hexes that are "U" shaped and crossing the OG hexside.You never move into a non building hex.
 

Sparafucil3

Forum Guru
Joined
Oct 7, 2004
Messages
11,517
Reaction score
5,374
Location
USA
First name
Jim
Country
llUnited States
If only I had written about this.

 

ScottRomanowski

Forum Guru
Joined
Jul 31, 2010
Messages
1,713
Reaction score
2,224
Location
Massachusetts
Country
llUnited States

mgmasl

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2006
Messages
4,321
Reaction score
360
Location
Cadiz
First name
Miguel
Country
llSpain
Idiot-proof any ASL issue?
We need a súper-Genius to get this Job done…. A super-genius playing ASL, of course..
any candidate?
 

SSlunt

Senior Member
Joined
May 26, 2012
Messages
452
Reaction score
599
Location
Calgary AB
Country
llCanada
Then what is the difference from moving out of the building and then moving back in. Rowhouse Bypass states that you spend one to "bypass" in the hex it is leaving where it would be attacked by any OBA/Residual‑FP and two to enter the building), You are no longer in the building so therefore would lose control

As for Stews comment about "This is akin to moving between building hexes that are "U" shaped and crossing the OG hexside. " You do not send any MF in an the open ground hex so you do not lose control
 

EagleIV

Elder Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
1,713
Reaction score
918
Location
California
Country
llUnited States
Then what is the difference from moving out of the building and then moving back in. Rowhouse Bypass states that you spend one to "bypass" in the hex it is leaving where it would be attacked by any OBA/Residual‑FP and two to enter the building), You are no longer in the building so therefore would lose control

As for Stews comment about "This is akin to moving between building hexes that are "U" shaped and crossing the OG hexside. " You do not send any MF in an the open ground hex so you do not lose control
When you spend 1 MF to bypass a rowhouse you never are never considered to have left the building entered that other hex/Location outside the building for control, minefield, OBA, etc. purposes, you are moving directly from 1 building Location to another Location in the same building, it just takes a little longer than most other buildings as you step outside and dash to the next doorway (and you can be fired at as you do so, but like a snap shot you aren't on the hexside you are in one of the 2 hexes. If you look at the B23.71 EX the routing unit is never in I6. It is routing directly from I7 to H6 and it is only in those 2 Locations during the RtPh.
 

SSlunt

Senior Member
Joined
May 26, 2012
Messages
452
Reaction score
599
Location
Calgary AB
Country
llCanada
"Can be Interdicted or Defensive First Fired upon with FFMO/FFNAM DRM by any unit capable of doing so that can trace a LOS to the vertex of the hexside crossed by the moving/routing unit on that side of the building.
So yes you fire at the hexside Yes you are not in the building. You spend a MF outside of the building. You get no drm for the build so you must be outside the building.

When was the Q&A added - between which iteration of the rule books
 

PresterJohn

Elder Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2022
Messages
1,098
Reaction score
612
Location
The Orient
Country
llAustralia
Isn't this just another form of limited bypass movement where the vertex is an aiming point but the target unit is never considered to be at the vertex? The infantry unit can only ever be in one hex or the other and the extra movement cost and exposure at the vertex reflects the hazard of moving between those locations.
 

mgmasl

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2006
Messages
4,321
Reaction score
360
Location
Cadiz
First name
Miguel
Country
llSpain
Real argument..
units from the squad (10?) move one to one and distance to travel is very short.. so there is always units in rhe building..
I personally have no problem with this Q&A..
not sure if moving betwen two different locations of the building by crossing a non-building hexside has the same effect.. I think so.
 
Top