Routing question

Craig Benn

Reaction score
Country
llUnited Kingdom
I've been playing this game for 14 years nearly and I've just realised I still don't understand the rout rules....

One of my broken squads is ADJACENT to a known enemy squad at the start of the rout phase.

The nearest rout target is a woods hex, 3MF and two hexes away. The intervening hex is open ground and would result in interdiction.

There is another woods hex in a slightly different direction which is three hexes and 6MF away. The two intervening hexes are brush.

Both potential destinations are further away from a KEU thanot the starting hex.

I played it that my boy surrendered as he had to rout to the closer woods (and of course he got no quartered). Reading the rules sInce I can't find any way out of it....but damn it feels wrong. If the first wood ex didn't exist and was open ground e.t. c I could have routed to the other one.

Was there any way my boys could have survived?

buser333

Reaction score
I've been playing this game for 14 years nearly and I've just realised I still don't understand the rout rules....

One of my broken squads is ADJACENT to a known enemy squad at the start of the rout phase.

The nearest rout target is a woods hex, 3MF and two hexes away. The intervening hex is open ground and would result in interdiction.

There is another woods hex in a slightly different direction which is three hexes and 6MF away. The two intervening hexes are brush.

Both potential destinations are further away from a KEU thanot the starting hex.

I played it that my boy surrendered as he had to rout to the closer woods (and of course he got no quartered). Reading the rules sInce I can't find any way out of it....but damn it feels wrong. If the first wood ex didn't exist and was open ground e.t. c I could have routed to the other one.

Was there any way my boys could have survived?