Rout destination

oybj

Recruit
Joined
Feb 13, 2018
Messages
14
Reaction score
9
Country
llNorway
We are having some problems learning the rout rules - can we ask for somebody's help?
8433
It is the German rout phase. They want to rout the broken, dm 467 to the german leader. Since they cannot rout downstairs in U18, they declare U17 ground level as their destination and spend 3 MF going there. Then they can continue routing to an adjacent building and declare V17 as their new destination and spend 2 more MF going there.

1. Is this correct?

There is no LOS from U17 to V19.

2. At what point must the concealed 628 drop concealment to deny the rout to V17?

Assume now that there is LOS from U17 to V19.

3. What is the latest point in the 467s rout phase that the 628 can drop concealment to deny the rout to V17?

Thanks!
 

Carln0130

Elder Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2006
Messages
4,970
Reaction score
1,091
Location
MA
Country
llUnited States
The 4-6-7 has to see the 6-2-8 as a KEU at the start of its rout phase. So anytime prior to that. Once it becomes known, prior to the 4-6-7 starting it's rout, then the 4-6-7 cannot rout to the leader.
 

klasmalmstrom

Forum Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
16,476
Reaction score
2,948
Location
Sweden
Country
llSweden
If the 6-2-8 wants to deny the Germans V17 as the rout destination (assuming not LOS from V19 to U17), the it needs to drop its Concealment before the 4-6-7 starts routing to V17.

If there was a LOS between V19 and U17, it could drop its Concealment once the broken 4-6-7 enters U17 (1st level or ground) or before as well.
 

Eagle4ty

Elder Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
4,215
Reaction score
1,792
Location
Eau Claire, Wi
Country
llUnited States
Given the LOS's it would seem as if the 628 would have to drop "?" status prior to the start of the RtPh of the broken 467. There is obviously no LOS from U17 to V19 so the 467 would reach to Ldr before the 628 could drop concealment to prevent a rout to him in any other situation.
 

Rock SgtDan

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2012
Messages
2,547
Reaction score
111
Location
State of Confusion
First name
Dan
Country
llSlovenia
If there was a LOS ... it could drop its Concealment once the broken UNIT enters A LOCATION or before as well.
That does not quite cover all the possibilities.
Does the Concealed (or Hidden) player have the option of dropping concealment AFTER the Routing player announces he is about to leave a Location?
 

klasmalmstrom

Forum Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
16,476
Reaction score
2,948
Location
Sweden
Country
llSweden
Technically, IMO, you announce your entering a new Location - not that you going to leave the one you are in.

Once the unit reaches U17 and the Russian player does not do anything, and the German player then says "and continue routing to V17" - IMO, its too late to drop "?" to deny that move, ymmv.
 

Aavar

Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
176
Reaction score
20
Location
Toronto
Country
llCanada
probably should rout to v16 if you can advance leader to v16 this player turn or if opponent's player turn, rout to v15 and then on your turn move leader there.
 

Tater

Elder Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2003
Messages
9,719
Reaction score
549
Location
Ardmore, TN
Country
llUnited States
Can a routing unit voluntarily change it's target destination mid-rout?

The rule says it can change destination if it is forced to due to "newly-Known" enemy units. Barring such changes, I think once destination is declared a unit has to follow the rout rules relative to path and once reaching that destination, stops. That would mean, in the case in point, the broken 467 would declare V17 as his destination before starting the rout, which would also mean the ?628 (assuming LOS to U17) could drop concealment as soon as the 467 enters U17 (either upper or lower level). There is no issue with timing for dropping concealment because the destination of the 467 is known from the start of it's rout.
 

jrv

Forum Guru
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,998
Reaction score
6,135
Location
Teutoburger Wald
Country
llIceland
Can a routing unit voluntarily change it's target destination mid-rout?

The rule says it can change destination if it is forced to due to "newly-Known" enemy units. Barring such changes, I think once destination is declared a unit has to follow the rout rules relative to path and once reaching that destination, stops. That would mean, in the case in point, the broken 467 would declare V17 as his destination before starting the rout, which would also mean the ?628 (assuming LOS to U17) could drop concealment as soon as the 467 enters U17 (either upper or lower level). There is no issue with timing for dropping concealment because the destination of the 467 is known from the start of it's rout.
It can't change its initial destination, but once it reaches its destination it can continue routing as long as it enters woods/building locations.

JR
 
Top