Revealed HIP Fortification & Its HIP Units

EJ1

Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2013
Messages
312
Reaction score
135
Location
Boulder, Colorado
Country
llUnited States
Q: A foxhole and squad are setup HIP; the foxhole is revealed by enemy LOS and placed on board; is the squad therefore revealed, and if so, in what way or to what degree? Example: is the squad still hidden, concealed, totaly revealed (A12.31), or other? Thanks
 

klasmalmstrom

Forum Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
19,848
Reaction score
7,303
Location
Sweden
Country
llSweden
Squad stay hidden until it performs an action that makes it lose its hidden status.
 

jrv

Forum Guru
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,998
Reaction score
6,207
Location
Teutoburger Wald
Country
llIceland
Depending on how you got your foxholes, the appearance of a foxhole can expose a HIP unit or not. If you get your foxholes by an SSR that allows units to set up entrenched, the appearance of a foxhole tells you that there is a HIP unit inside. In that situation you should probably set up your HIP units unentrenched. If, on the other hand, the foxholes are given in the OB, the appearance of a foxhole does not necessarily mean a HIP unit is in the hex.

JR
 

EJ1

Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2013
Messages
312
Reaction score
135
Location
Boulder, Colorado
Country
llUnited States
Thanks. Yep, I agree. Better to confirm now than be surprised when it's too late. Cheers
 

EJ1

Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2013
Messages
312
Reaction score
135
Location
Boulder, Colorado
Country
llUnited States
Thanks JRV - OK, yes, I knew there had to be more subtleties to this issue. My gut was saying, "Hold on. Not so fast." So, SSR for Raff's Rules J193, roughly states units may set up entrenched. The OOB also offers "?"s. Thus, am I right that a unit may set up concealed and yet in a hidden foxhole, and if the LOS reveals the foxhole, then the units are still concealed, but now shown on the board in their foxholes? Having the foxhole revealed doesn't, as I read it, trigger A12.31 - revealing units. Thoughts? Cheers
 

Robin Reeve

The Swiss Moron
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
19,697
Reaction score
5,681
Location
St-Légier
First name
Robin
Country
llSwitzerland
As FH lose HIP in different conditions than Infantry, concealment loss must be dissociated between FH and Infantry.
 

jrv

Forum Guru
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,998
Reaction score
6,207
Location
Teutoburger Wald
Country
llIceland
Raff's Rules says Infantry may set up entrenched. Dummies are not Infantry so they may not set up entrenched. You can always set up concealed in a HIP foxhole. The HIP foxhole would lose concealment normally, typically on LOS, and loss of concealment for any fortification never reveals its contents. If a foxhole suddenly appears in an "empty" hex in Raff's Rules you know there is a HIP unit in it. For that reason, it would probably be best not to set up HIP units entrenched, unless you were going to perform a more complicated deception like having a dummy in the foxhole with the HIP unit then move the dummy out.

JR
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2014
Messages
93
Reaction score
4
Location
nj
Country
llUnited States
Hi
Just wondering...
According to the rules it seems HIP foxhole (fortification) loses HIP status when within 16 hexes of enemy, and in LOS. This true if HIP foxholes are setup in woods hex?
 
Top