- May 25, 2005
- Reaction score
- Teutoburger Wald
Yes. My point about the SAN is that unlike, say, a TH change, the value of a +1 increase in SAN is the same whether the "before" SAN is two or six. In contrast a +1 TH change is more valuable and has higher incremental impact if the "before" TH number is six than if it is two. That is because the SAN is determined by rolling exactly that value, while the TH is determined by rolling less-than-or-equal-to that value.What JR points out is that your 1 CPP does not get you SAN 6 by itself - it changes a SAN 5 into a SAN 6.
SAN 6 is likely to hit several times over the course of a scenario, sure - but so is SAN 5. What matters is the difference that it brings - which, as JR correctly calculates, is an increase in DRs that hit your SAN of 1 out of 36 DRs - 1 out of 108 if you count the activation dr. That's the same difference as between SAN 0 and SAN 2, or between SAN 2 and SAN 3, which is something many people are likely to forget.
I was not arguing that the SAN was the most-best-est (or least-best-est) option. I was saying that an increase of +1 in the SAN has the same value (in terms of change of number of expected SAN results) whether the original SAN is low or high. Note that this does not factor in raising the SAN above the CG "potential loss" limit. Most CGs have a rule that causes the SAN to decrease. Usually if the SAN is above a certain value the player makes a dr to see if it is reduced. The existence of such a rule makes a SAN increase less valuable if the current value of the SAN is high.