Red Barricades ELR LOSS/GAIN 11.617

Jack Dionne

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2004
Messages
933
Reaction score
2
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
Country
llCanada
Red Barricades
ELR LOSS/GAIN 11.617

I have a question in reference to the DRM’s on the following table;

-1 Friendly side won yesterday’s CG scenario
-2 Per Idle Day since the last-completed CG
-2 Per friendly elite Infantry Coy purchased on previous CG Day
-1 Per friendly first-line-infantry-Coy/AFV Pltn[EXC: SPW Pltn] purchased on the
previous CG Day
+1 If friendly side selected the Attack chit on the previous CG Day (Germans are
assumed to select the Attack chit for each Initial Scenario; 11.5
+2 Per scenario completed since the start of the CG or since the last Idle Day (friendly
side’s choice)
X Historical DRM for friendly side

So far we have played two full campaign days, 17 and 18 October. We are going to start 19 Oct. I need to confirm what my DRM is going to be when I roll for ELR gain loss before we start our next scenario on the 20th Oct. I have lost every campaign date so far and I have chosen Idle for every day as well. I already know I will get the –2 drm for purchasing an elite infantry coy. Let’s also assume I will loose this campaign day as well.

Because I have chosen Idle for all the CG scenarios and there have been no Idle days yet, do I still have to apply the +2 Per scenario completed even though I have chosen Idle?

I am a bit confused because when I read the footnotes on page 0 22, #34 it states “A player who continues to attack day after CG-Day will soon find his troops’ ELR reduced to one or zero, and see them melt away before his very eyes.”

That’s why if a player chooses the Idle chit and his opponent continues with the Attack chit it seems the Idle player is unfairly penalized.

Are there any errata on this issue or am I over-complicating it?
 

Commissar Piotr

War Pig
Joined
Nov 14, 2003
Messages
1,250
Reaction score
11
Location
Kista
Country
llSweden
Hi Girls

I would say you are over-complicating it. You are not penalized as much as the attacker is as you have not selected the attack chit. You ave still completed a CG-Date even if that was due to the opponent selecting the attack chit. The DRM applies.

This rule sucks anyway, IMHO.
 

Jack Dionne

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2004
Messages
933
Reaction score
2
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
Country
llCanada
I wish there would be greater clarification officially. I just re-read the 91 ASL Annual with the first series replay of the Campaign Game. The German finished with an ELR of 0 while the Russian finnished with an ELR of 4. 23 CG days where played. I still think there is a problem somewhere.
Thanks for the post Commissar Piotr.
 

Jack Dionne

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2004
Messages
933
Reaction score
2
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
Country
llCanada
I got the official response back from MMP. I must say they where very fast in answering. However I do not like the answer I got. Both sides do get the penalty. I still say it’s much too severe given all the advantages the Germans get.
 
Top